We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill
Ranked #89 of 955 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family owned restaurant serves Italian, Spanish and Mediterranean dishes with world class cocktails in a holiday type of feeling at our cosy indoor and outdoor space.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Whilst you might not get the worlds best presentation at Lucia and the service is good but not always exceptional, the food iself is simple and delicious. The surroundings are comfortable and (upstairs) you might say sophisticated, this creates a vibrant and an enticing atmosphere. But the food is the real strength. Maybe it's because the kitchen is under pressure, but food does not have time to be over cooked, it's delivered to the table before you have time to sample the house wine. This is great if your priority is quality of food and flavour, maybe not if you want to savour the moment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! It is very much appreciated. I'm very pleased you was satisfied with the ambiance and quality of food you received. We always try to ensure customers are presented with their meals as quickly as possible to our usual high standards. please note if you do require a slight delay with or between meals, please don't hesitate to inform your server and we will be happy to help. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,144 - 2,148 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

You can't book a table at Lucia, it's first come first served. Even on a busy night it never takes too long to get served. Once at your table, service is prompt and food is always exceptionally well cooked and very quickly delivered to your table. Tonight we both had the rump steak and it was as good as any I have tasted, anywhere. It's not an elaborate menu and the presentation is not sophisticated, but wow, the flavour more than compensates. This restaurant is nearly always busy, the atmosphere is vibrant and the food is delicious, for most occasions, you can't ask for much more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to read! I am very happy you was satisfied with everything on your recent visit, and I have passed on your kind comments to my team. For our full terms and conditions regarding booking a table please see our website. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Eaten here a few times. Consistent good food (although a little pricey), and great atmosphere. Always leave happy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChristiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! It is our aim to ensure customers leave our establishment happy, so it was a pleasure to read your comments. For 10% off all your food and fantastic drinks offers, please pick up one of our loyalty cards on your next visit, or apply online via our website. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have now been twice to Lucia's this year and will go again (next year). Great food and a good choice of Gluten Free options. Buzzy atmosphere is not always what you want, so if you need quite .... Forget Lucis's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OldRocker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! We always try to keep our gluten free menu varied so we can cater for everybody, so Im very pleased you enjoyed both your visits this year. We look forward to seeing you again in the new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Ate here for a work Christmas lunch. Considering that these types of affair usually involve a conveyor belt attitude with mediocre food, my experience at Lucia was all the more impressive.

Food was spot-on: melt in the mouth pink rump of beef with a painstakingly neat stack of dauphinoise potato, my favourite veg kale and the jus/sauce served separately which I much prefer to having it poured where I don't want it on my plate.

The staff were all extremely helpful, friendly and patient. Our party included two with separate dietary requirements which were accommodated without fuss, even when we had someone delayed and arrive 40 minutes late they dealt with that so they were served instantly so that all our third courses were still in sync.

Overall very impressed, enough to join Tripadviser (I was raving about the place 'you should put a thing up on tripadvisor' - yes I should!) to leave this review. Would not hesitate visiting again and would recommend highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MudskipperTheFourth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, it was a wonderful read. We appreciate your comments on the food and service we produced, it is our main priority to ensure our customers leave our establishment satisfied. We always try our very best to cater for all dietary needs, so I am pleased your party was happy with there experience with us! We are looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing