We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable”

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill
Ranked #62 of 860 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family owned restaurant serves Italian, Spanish and Mediterranean dishes with world class cocktails in a holiday type of feeling at our cosy indoor and outdoor space.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food and service have never let me down. i have visited Lucia's regularly over the last four years and I will always return there when in York.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's always a pleasure to read our regular customers are still satisfied after years of eating/drinking with us! I do hope you have one of our loyalty cards! Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    610
    187
    87
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dreadful rude welcome”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose to eat in this lovely courtyard as we had our dog with us. We were asked if we were ready to be shown to a table by one member of staff but we waited a minute to read the menu. When we were ready we were rudely told by a different eastern european member of staff that only 2 tables were for people with dogs, both occupied.
Strange as we had been offered another table a minute before! She told us to wait 30 minutes. Needless to say we left. We found her very rude, no problem if they dont want dogs but at least make sure all staff say the same thing. There is plenty of choice in York and we have found a much friendlier Italian restaurant that i have also reviewed today.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimosas31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review... Firstly, I'd like to explain our dogs policy for future reference. Although we do welcome all dogs into our patio area, we only have two tables available for them, unless they are guide dogs. For this reason, the wait is likely to be longer as you would need to wait for one of these tables to become available. As we work on a no reservation policy, it could be that one of the tables were ready when you first arrived, and whilst deciding if you was going to dine with us, the table was taken by other customers ready to be seated. I apologise you feel you were spoken to rudely, I can assure you that wasn't the intention. We would love to see you back here again, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Lucia's for years and have always considered it to be a total find and though we live quite a distance away, before now we've never begrudged the travel because it's always been Fantastic!

Unfortunately, last night, unlike any other time we've been, we opted for a main meal rather than the tapas options of previous visits. We had the skewers, 1 chicken 1 beef. Maybe we chose badly but it was very average. The skewers were nicely cooked but the chips and onion rings were bog standard frozen fare.

We will come back because we love the atmosphere and the tapas and the cocktails ... All of which remain faultless and good value for money, but we probably won't choose a main meal again.

Helpful?
Thank Alf45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback, it is very important to us as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and make every visit as good as the last. It was very disappointing to read your recent meals wasn't to our usual high standards, especially as you have visited in the past without any problems. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate people and we will be working to better any problems mentioned. I'm very pleased your not letting this experience deter you from returning in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very popular which meant we had a long time to wait for a table.

It was a long wait for below average food.

There are additional tables outside with heaters and blankets, which are provided on request.

Staff were friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reds1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm very disappointed to read you feel your visit was only average. As we work on a no-booking policy, at busy times it is highly likely you will need to wait for a table. We do hope you will come see us again at a less busy time, and this experience hasn't deterred you from future visits. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Risotto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were referred to Lucia by staff in a coffee bar nearby who said it was popular with locals, surely a good indicator. We were seated right away, given menu advice from a very friendly and helpful staff member and went on to enjoy some of the best risotto we have ever had. We were only in York a short time so didn't get the chance to visit again; if we return to the city this will definitely be on the list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It's wonderful to read you enjoyed your first visit here and everything was to your taste. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing