We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill
Ranked #62 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family owned restaurant serves Italian, Spanish and Mediterranean dishes with world class cocktails in a holiday type of feeling at our cosy indoor and outdoor space.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went to York for a mini break for our 1 year Wedding anniversary and went to Lucia on the Saturday night. It was fantastic, we did have to wait for a table but that was fine because we just sat upstairs and had a pitcher of the Lychee Explosion (amazing and you get a big jug!). You could sit either inside or outside if you wanted, think it was a little more wait for inside but the option was there. The food was fantastic, we got Olives to share before the starter. Then I got Calimari, my husband got the lamb skewer - both were lovely! Then I got the sea food risotto and my husband had the seafood marinara, both were gorgeous! We also had another jug of lychee explosion! The atmosphere was great and the service was really attentive. Would absolutely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, and congratulations on your anniversary!:) we are very pleased to hear of your visit please come and see us again soon!
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,497
    608
    186
    87
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Lucia bar & grill on many occasions, my self and my wife can recommend all things on the menu as we've tried nearly all of them, a very friendly place where you can eat & drink in a nice relaxing atmosphere, food & staff fantastic, very reasonably priced as well,sometimes you do have to wait for a table as it gets busy but you can wait in very nice comfortable surroundings in the bar/cocktail bar upstairs until you are called to your table,your waiter/waitress will come for you.keep up the good work Lucia's we will be back!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, our regular customers mean just as much to us as our new customers and I'm very pleased you have taken time to write this excellent review, we always aim to please, see you again soon :)
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
186 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Here you can eat outside or in (there's blankets draped over te outside chairs). The restaurant is situated up a quiet side street.
On a chilly night, the three of us took cover inside.
Our starters, mains and the wine we chose were all very good.
Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harbmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, always pleased to hear such nice comments, we pride ourselves on great customer service and fantastic food whatever the weather we hope to see you again soon :)
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A good place for a casual meal in nice surroundings. It does get busy due to not having many covers, so sometimes you may have to wait for a table. Once seated, the service is good. The menu is reasonable but the food is average.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your dish as much as we would have hoped but I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the overall restaurant experience, if ever there is a problem please don't hesitate to speak to our on duty manager who will be very happy to replace a dish if disliked, we hope to see you again soon
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, shame for unmemorable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a family dinner in the courtyard. The Mediterranean atmosphere was helped by outdoor heaters which got us all stripped to t shirts in a matter of minutes. We've had a mixture of starters, probably the best part of the meal, although I wouldn't say they were value for money.(The lamb skewer was minute and resting on the huge bed of rice.)
The mains arrived promptly and looked good, but vegetarian salad with aubergine and haloumi (or was it feta?) was the blandest meal I had for years! The risotto with sea food was below average and as for the chicken salad, it was equally bland as mine! We skipped the puddings, they looked tired and mass produced.
The best part of the meal was service, it was graceful, efficient and friendly - as for the kitchen staff, they need retraining!
Needles to say we will not be going to Lucia's again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments regarding your food to the correct department who will deal with this matter immediately, we appreciate your lovely words of our service, we hope this matter hasn't discouraged you from returning to Lucia, we hope to see you again soon :)
Lucia wine bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing