We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilled out evening”

Kennedys Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Kennedy's Bar and Restaurant is unique to York, set in the quarter, just a stone's throw from York Minster, Kennedy's offers a stylish and modern setting for people to drink and dine, and features a roof top sun terrace, a contemporary ground floor bar and dance floor. Kennedy's pride themselves on relaxed friendly service and freshly prepared food.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“chilled out evening”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my wife spent a late evening at Kennedy's last weekend on our mini visit to York, having my roots in York i have found the bars to have gone a bit downhill on my visits over the years, so it was a nice change to find a place with a chilled out and relaxed atmosphere.
We only intended in staying for one drink, but as in all good laid plans we stayed until near closing time @ 02:00.
The next time we visit York again we will come a little earlier and try some food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Keith797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    377
    94
    39
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hearty food & great service!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are looking for great value for money & great food that accepts the taste card in York then this is the place. Portions were very generous, the staff were very friendly & attentive & my girlfriend and I had a lovely meal to end our first day of a mini break in York. Great hearty food with great service at a very reasonable price. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Off the track”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not a bar you will see on the main streets, but well worth a visit,often have live music, wide range of drinks and food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rattybusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend went early evening for a meal and had burgers, the service was prompt and the food a good standard. The decor is very stylish and the furniture is comfortable. My only gripe is the drinks prices but I'll let that go as its a cool place to hang out. Cheers

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Dont do it"”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Out on a christmas trip to York we decided to visit Kennedys for an evening meal. We waited thirty miuntes to be serve then 45 minutes for our food not good.
One meal returned as it was cold, other meals were just okay. We then had to sit and wait for the bill which didnt arrive, so we went to the bar to be told there was a £14 service charge, what service. While York in a wounderful place to visit I will not eat here again. Over priced pub grub.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoolsHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Manager at Kennedys Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you thought the service was not up to standard as we tried our very best to accommodate your large table, even asking another table if they minded moving so that all of you could be seated together. Unfortunately when a large group walks in on the busiest weekend of the year, without a booking or a pre-order, then there could well be a delay in the food arriving. The service charge is optional and is added to the bill for parties of 10 or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedys Bar & Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Kennedys Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing