We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vic Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vic Guest House
Ranked #59 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southfields, London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a beautiful guest house so very well kept. Spotlessly clean. What a wonderful breakfast so very filling.We were made to feel very welcome. Plenty buses around the corner to town centre. Coming back late in the evening taxi under £5. Definitely stay again when we return. Don't forget to bring a treat for Leo (the dog). Check out the old sweet shop around the corner, what a selection. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable. Mike & Sue

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    45
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
41
150
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The room we stayed in was immaculate and extremely warm and cosy although we stayed in February. A short walk to the centre with pubs nearby. The hosts were very accommodating and very friendly at all times. The best bit I'd say was the breakfast, well cooked, lots of choice and I had so much I didn't need to eat for the rest of the day!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Lovely clean rooms that are nicely themed showing a little TLC. Looks and feels like it's run with a personal touch . Would recommend for anybody visiting York city as only a 15 min walk to centre.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdaron, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Exactly what we wanted, room was comfortable, breakfast was great. Location ideal as it was a short 10 minute walk along the river to the town centre. Will be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Only had a one night stay but would happily visit again. Friendly welcome, beautiful building. Clean warm and a fantastic breakfast. It ticked all the boxes and thoroughly deserves the good reviews it already has.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Ian & Julie are a fantastic couple, very welcoming. Leo is a superb asset & will brighten your morning!
I've have stayed one week so far & have re-booked again for next week as I'm on a course in York. It's not far from the city center.
The rooms are very clean & comfortable with a relaxed atmosphere. The ensuite is also extremely clean.
Breakfast was great. Only had cereal & toast all week but the cooked breakfast smelt divine & looked scrumptious. I shall be having a cooked breakfast next week for sure.
Really is a hidden gem in York and is very reasonably priced.
Will be recommending to friends, family & work colleagues.
Really do highly recommend this superb guest house!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had decided to spend a Saturday night in York as a bit of a treat to ourselves and it was purely by chance that we ended up choosing The Old Vic - and what a choice! We couldn't have wished for a warmer welcome; Ian and Julie immediately made us feel at home and genuinely seemed to enjoy having their guests around. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple who, along with their daughters and Leo the dog, clearly work very hard to maintain their well deserved reputation. Ian even insisted on printing out a map for us when we asked for directions into town.
The cleanliness is immediately evident as is the homely feel of the whole place - our room was charming with tea & coffee making facilities and large screen TV which all helped towards a very comfortable stay. The breakfasts here are said to be almost legendary and this was indeed confirmed as we sat down to the classic Full-English - delicious and perfect fuel for a day of walking in the winter sunshine around historic York.
The location of The Old Vic is ideal, just to the south of the city centre and off the main road into York, making it perfect for sightseeing or shopping. The walk along the riverside into the central area is delightful and took us about 20 minutes although we also used the bus for our evening out and found it to be very convenient, with a stop only yards from the Old Vic and costing the princely sum of just £1.
Although our trip to York was only brief, we had a most memorable weekend and hope to return soon - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 1 is a premium room which costs a little more but is very spacious and is on the ground floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bottlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#86 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#156 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
#157 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.4 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#77 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vic Guest House

Property: The Old Vic Guest House
Address: 2 Wenlock Terrace | Fulford Road, York YO10 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vic is a beautiful old 19th century Victorian house. we have 8 clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms. we are in great location, minutes from York city centre, with the university and racecourse also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing