We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vic Guest House
Ranked #56 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Found this B&B online and it is fantastic! Room was spotless, cozy and comfortable, kettle, tea, coffee etc in room and plenty of it. Folder including information about accommodation and tourist areas, travel etc. Family run and they were friendly, chatty and helpful, breakfast was outstanding and easily the best full English we've been offered. We were made to feel very welcome. It is perfectly situated for a good walk along the riverside to the centre of York or a short bus ride. We will definitely visit again and highly recommend this B&B. It is excellent!
Lynda & Nigel (Wisbech)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    47
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
156
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

An enjoyable 2 night stay at this lovely family run B + B. We were made really welcome and can highly recommend the "The Old Vic". We enjoyed chatting to Julie and cuddles from Leo the dog.
Sharron + Darran Needham from Sheffield

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a party of six that spent 2 nights in the old vic. Our stay was lovely, all 3 rooms were very clean and kept to a high standard. The family that run the B&B were really nice and would do anything to make us all feel welcome. We would highly recommend a stay at "The old Vic" and we will be definatly visting again. Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely family run B&B where we could not have been made any more welcome. Room was spotless, beds were really comfy, everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble. Perfectly situated, walking distance to the City centre via the lovely path along the river. Frequent bus service every 8 minutes number 7 to town, Breakfast was lovely, very filling, and served with a smile from Ian and daughter, lets not forget Julie slaving over the stove! Would highly recommend to anyone. Great for families, and we are already looking to book for are next trip,
Ian and Julie have only been there since June and have been very busy and fully booked, but with all this they still found time to refurbe bedroom 1 which looks fab!
I only had one problem of which was a rubber seal in shower head and was dealt with.
I can only say that this family are doing a great job to improve and update this lovely building,
this was a previous B&B owned by an old couple who have now retired, please remember if you have a problem let Ian know asap and he will deal with it.
finely Leo the dog, just amazing such a lovely harmless( x army spoilt dog) long story ask Ian,
parking is free but hard to find space best times are 5.30 pm to 6.30 pm I suggest park leave keys and walk its a lovely walk.
to sum this B&B in to one word, fantastic!

jeyson and Susan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeysonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks back and had a fantastic stay. We were in Room 1 and were informed when we arrived that it had been recently renovated. The room was large, far bigger than a normal double bedroom, with a kingsize bed, 40-something inch TV (with Sky) an iPod docking station, well furnished & beautifully decorated.
For the price, it went above and beyond what I expected, especially considering the price that popular and 'affordable' hotel chains seem to charge for a night in York.
The staff were very friendly and breakfast was fantastic: a fill english with a help-yourself table for cereal, juice etc.
The location was adequate: I imagine it would be a thirty minute walk into town, but we just got the bus in the morning and a taxi at night (£6 for charge for the latter).
The only slight let down was a lack of hot water for the shower - perhaps due to the fact that I was showering around breakfast time in the morning, as I imagine most other people were.
In all I would definitely recommend this Guest House to anyone coming to York. Luxury quality room for affordable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely family run B&B where we could not have been made any more welcome. Room was spotless, beds were really comfy, everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble. Perfectly situated, walking distance to the City centre via the lovely path along the river. Frequent bus service from the doorstep! Breakfast was lovely, fresh, filling, and served with a smile. Would highly recommend to anyone. Great for families, and we are already looking to book out next stay. Thank you Ian, Julie, & Family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catt1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

...is by staying at the Old Vic!
We spent a whole week there and had a great time there. Every one was really friendly, we found comfort and rest.
We enjoyed the dog's cuddles too. ;-)
Only 20 minutes walk from the city centre (which is perfect after the delicious full english breakfast!), the B&B has a good location. We would warmly recommend it.
Hopefully we'll come back around sometime, maybe on our way to the Yorkshire dales, maybe to talk about our journey in Cornwall (which we will surely have made at this time!). Who knows?
Thanks to you four !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie_Joachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#72 of 192 in York
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#140 of 192 in York
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#49 of 192 in York
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#29 of 192 in York
413 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#3 of 192 in York
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vic Guest House

Property: The Old Vic Guest House
Address: 2 Wenlock Terrace | Fulford Road, York YO10 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vic is a beautiful old 19th century Victorian house. we have 8 clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms. we are in great location, minutes from York city centre, with the university and racecourse also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing