We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vic Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vic Guest House
Ranked #58 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Only there for one night and it had everything I needed comfy bed and freebies tv.Breakfast is just wonderful and everyone is very friendly And would highly recommend and will always use when I'm in York and the dog is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbuck11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    45
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
41
150
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
louth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed at the old vic guest house 14th/i5th september,very warm welcome from julie on arrival, the guest house is clean and the breakfasts are lovely,ian and julie are very friendly thanks for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biffolouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Spent two nights here on a short break to York, what a great place. Spotlessly clean, really comfortable rooms, great breakfast, and charming friendly people Julie and Hannah, plus a great big softy dog, Leo. Couldn't be more pleased, thanks a million. The Rose family from Essex

Room Tip: Just don't look any further, everything you need is here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Warm, homely and comfortable. Thanks to Ian, Julie and the girls. A great team full of fun!!!
We four adults stayed in The Old Vic for 6 days and it was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was very delicious.

Room Tip: All are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Old Vic Guest House last weekend whilst on a trip to York for my birthday. We recieved a very warm welcome from Julie, Ian and their two daughters. We took up four rooms in the guest house and all rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast's were delicious! The guest house has a nice pub just across the road called the Fulford Arms which sells food and has a nice big beer garden on the back its also situated very near to the city centre with just a very enjoyable 10min walk along the river. Would definately return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenThompson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

this b/b has recently been aquired by Ian and Julie, -- they are both helpful and friendly and the accomodation was good , if there was anything needed you only had to ask. The breakfast--full english was more than enough or you had choices of various eggs -scrambled, poached/ boiled etc. There was a choice cereals, fruit juices and even yohgurts in an ice tray --to keep them cool , plenty of toast , tea or coffee. Julie is a good cook (although Ian would have you believe he does the cooking). Not much more to say apart from good hospitality and value for money-- why not give them a try --I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the old vic guest house for 2 nights last weekend. We was given a very warm welcome from Julie & Ian on our arrival and even from leo their gorgeous dog. The room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was cooked to a very high standard and the service from their daughters Anna and Hayley was excellent, Julie and Ian chatted easily with all the guests and were very interested what everyone was doing that day. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house to anyone we will definately going back next year. Thanks to all of you, even leo, for making our trip even better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#90 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#148 of 205 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
No 71 Bed & Breakfast
#157 of 205 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.4 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#77 of 205 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vic Guest House

Property: The Old Vic Guest House
Address: 2 Wenlock Terrace | Fulford Road, York YO10 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vic is a beautiful old 19th century Victorian house. we have 8 clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms. we are in great location, minutes from York city centre, with the university and racecourse also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing