We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful B&B does what it says on the tin!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vic Guest House
Ranked #55 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
N.Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful B&B does what it says on the tin!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We booked this last minute and didn't want to pay the inflated prices in the centre of York. £60/night incl brekkie. We turned up early instead of our expected time but they accomodated us. We booked online with a deposit but they require final balance in cash (there is a Sainsbury's around the corner on Fulford Rd). Parking is difficult, every property parks on street. We had to park our car 2 streets away, the area appears safe though. It is a tall B&B so you could be at the top of 2 flights of stairs so bear this in mind!! The room itself was compact, small, especially the shower/toilet. Not ideal if you are a fuller figure!!! Breakfast is 8.30-9am, the usual options available, I have wheat intolerance and they toasted my own bread which was nice. What was even nicer was that in the morning I asked for 2 boiled eggs and they cut my toast into soldiers, how sweet lol!!! Portions for brekkie were good, service excellent. There are the usual tea and coffee making facilities in the room and in reception is a selection of leaflets for tours, etc.

To get into York is a 15-20 min stroll along the river, lovely. I'm not sure if it is safe at night though so we walked back along the main York road. York itself is wonderful, we wandered about it for 2 days, loads of places to eat, drink and be merry. We ate at Caesars, a fantastic Italian around the back of the Minster and Henry J Beans, a burger/steak restaurant attached to the Hilton outside Cliffords Tower. If you get a chance, check out Hansom Cab pub in town, you will see a real Yorkshire pub full of locals, real old fashioned decor, Samuel Smiths lagers and ales on tap, nothing commercial on sale, wicked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobbadobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hi

Thank you for the review, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    47
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
156
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed one night at the Old Vic and enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were very clean and food was superb. Unfortunately there is no secure off street parking and our rental car was left parked on the street overnight. Hooligans managed to scratch the word "sorry" deep into the paint above the right front wheel so I expect Thrifty will have something so say about that. An unfortunate end to an otherwise fine visit. Be very aware!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdjgcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for The Old Vic guest house, however as you started your review with "we enjoyed our stay" and that "the rooms were VERY clean and the food SUPERB" i think that you have been unfair in your scoring to ourselves because you car was scratched, which has nothing to do with The old vic. You didnt even tell us about this incident when you stayed here. If you had i would of told you to police station was just at the top of the street. This could of happened anywhere even in a secure car park. As you can see from our other review this hasnt happend before so was a one off incident. Im sure if that hadnt happend you would of scored more than 2 out of 5.

Sharon (Mananger)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Myself and two friends stayed at The Old Vic for four days (28/03/11 -01/04/11) on our first stay in York. We had a wonderful time, and we were amazed at the quality of accommodation we had for such a reasonable price. We were made to feel at home and the breakfast was first class.....compliments to the chef!!!!i Joan, Vera & Jean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, a great review. Thank you.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2011

A very nice and relaxing stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful, recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for the lovely review. Hope to see you again at The Old Vic.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful stay: the Old Vic was exactly what we needed. My mother & I were in York for a conference at the university, and the Old Vic was perfectly located close to the university and not far from town. They have clean, spacious rooms in a lovely house, and everyone we met was so friendly!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustig85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hi

Thank you for your review, Im glad you had a good time. Hope to see you again if you come to York.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in York staying at The Old Vic Guesthouse, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the friendly, homely atmosphere that greets you from the moment we arrived until we sadly left made our stay a pleasure. We would also like to pay tribute to the wonderful breakfast that was served aswell, the choice on offer was excellent, by far more than we would have reasonably expected. Many thanks to all for asuch a lovely time

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndurkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hello John

Thank you for your review, we are glad you have a good time in York & at The Old Vic. Hope to see you soon.

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Definitely one of the best B&B’s Ive stayed at, gorgeous Victorian town house which is really welcoming with clean, comfortable, spacious rooms with on suite bathroom (which I had a lovely hot shower :~) ), great breakfast…. has a very homey feel to it.
Its located in a safe area of York with a short walking distance to the main part of the City, or if you’re not a walker you can get one of the many buses that run that way or a short taxi drive! I will be staying there again & will be recommending it to friends & family as well

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunchKim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SET02, Manager at The Old Vic Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hello

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#73 of 192 in York
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#152 of 192 in York
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelmsford Place Guest House
0.2 mi away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 192 in York
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vic Guest House

Property: The Old Vic Guest House
Address: 2 Wenlock Terrace | Fulford Road, York YO10 4DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vic is a beautiful old 19th century Victorian house. we have 8 clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms. we are in great location, minutes from York city centre, with the university and racecourse also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing