We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent!! One of the best stays we have ever...”
other traveler has booked this property
14 Talbot Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Sitting area
Sitting area
Bathroom
Dining area
Sitting area seen from dining area
Bedroom
Mediaeval exterior
Minster view
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chrisjt19...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!! One of the best stays we have ever had!”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked in for a weekend Christmas break in December 2014. When we were arrived we were greeted to a warm, cosy apartment in what we believe has to be the best location in the city. Excellent communications with John who left no question unanswered and made us feel very at ease when booking. It was so nice to instantly go from the hustle and bustle of the busy York streets into the private courtyard area and into the apartment. We found everything we needed inside including fresh flowers, milk and even a Betty's cake. Can't recommend it enough, We look forward to hopefully staying again very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragua
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic apartment in a beautiful city!”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My mother and I stayed at the flat over the Christmas holiday, and there are so many good things to say about it, I hardly know where to start! Essentially, I would repeat all the positives mentioned in previous reviews and add that John was the perfect host. He seemed to have anticipated our every need, right down to the detailed (and humorous!) descriptions/explanations in the apartment's information notebook. The flat was very welcoming and cozy; the pictures here don't do justice to the homeyness of the place. There were just enough holiday decorations and lights, not to mention fresh flowers on the dining table and a tasty treat from Betty's when we arrived!

We definitely considered it our home away from home and would return in an instant if we could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having such a pleasant spot to come home to after a day of sightseeing
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances G
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location and a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Excellent location with easy access to shops and restaurants. Very well equipped so self catering is an option. Everything you need for a city break, home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peheater
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

First class accommodation a stones throw from York Minster. Apartment met all our needs and more. Right in the heart of York ideal for everything. Only thing John didn't organise was the weather, tea and Betty's cake for our arrival was great start to our break.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrunkLove
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal oasis in the centre of town”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and were very impressed with the high quality furnishings and fittings of the flat, the ideal location within a stones throw of the Minster, and the very helpful and courteous owners. The flat is in a former girls' school which was redeveloped in the 90s into a modern complex of apartments. Little touches like an extra tv in the bedroom were really appreciated. The flat is also an oasis in the centre of town; even though it is on Low Petergate, a busy shopping street, the flat and gardens are peaceful (except when the Minster is chiming the hours, of course!). Restaurants very nearby offer a wide range of cuisine; the set menu at the Italian place (La Scuola Vecchia) in the main entrance of the old school is highly recommended, and the full English breakfast at the Galtres Hotel up the road is a great way to start your day around York. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claireros...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We Didn't Want to Leave”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have stayed in many rental apartments in the UK and abroad and this apartment is one of the best we have stayed in. It ticks all my 'must haves'...light and airy, clean, spacious & good quality furnishings...but this apartment has so much more! The setting is perfect..just 2 minutes from the Minster and amongst beautiful shops and restaurants. The courtyard and garden are a haven and the old, old buildings which the apartment is attached to sets the perfect scene for being in York. John is courteous and attentive and made sure we had clear directions. Also, having found it problematic to park and pick up keys at other times we appreciated the arrangements for Talbot Court. I enjoyed popping into the Minster to experience evensong and we visited Cafe Concerto which was recommended by John and it was delicious!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: There was some noise at night from cleaning services.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stay here - the apartment is pristine and the location is unbeatable.”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our stay from beginning to end was wonderful. The owners are very welcoming and extremely well organised, down to the fresh milk in the fridge and user friendly instructions for finding the parking space. The apartment has everything you could possibly need and is very comfortable. The location is unbeatable, with gardens looking out on to the minster and all of the highlights of this wonderful city no more than 10 minutes away by foot in any direction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Slightly noisy neighbours.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing