We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location!”
other travelers have booked this property
14 Talbot Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
14 Talbot Court
Bedroom
Sitting area
Sitting area
Bathroom
Dining area
Sitting area seen from dining area
Bedroom
Mediaeval exterior
Minster view
Private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3807Renee
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great Location!”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The location could not have been better, in the center of town and a short walk from train station (approx. 10 minutes). The manager gave excellent directions to the flat and was very accommodating. The unit was clean and relatively quiet considering it is located in the center of town. This unit is off of the street front.

Kitchen was well equipped and the use of the laundry machine was helpful.

Only hiccup was the fire alarm went off early one evening. No fire truck ever came and tenants were unsure of what to do other than to evacuate the building. Another tenant called their landlord and the alarm company came and reset the system.

If ever lucky enough to return to York would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
715Gillia...
Fonthill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at 14 Talbot Court for a week so we could thoroughly explore York and the vicinity. John was an absolute pleasure to deal with - he responded very promptly to our e mails and answered our questions thoroughly. We loved the apartment - it contained everything we needed for a comfortable stay in the city and the central location was superb. Since we were there for a week, we did use the kitchen to make some simple meals and found that it was very well equipped. The bed was extremely comfortable with sufficient blankets and covers if we needed them and the toiletries in the bathroom were a nice touch as was the lovely welcome gift of Betty's cake, milk and fresh flowers on the table. I would thoroughly recommend this apartment to anyone wanting to spend some time in the beautiful city of York.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that is was clean, and centrally located for all of York's attractions.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wonchu
2 reviews
“A beautiful pied a terre in the center of York”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The flat was everything it was advertised to be, and I was welcomed with a delicious cake from Betty's tea shop (a local legend) and fresh flowers. The owner was so helpful and accommodating and had lots of good suggestions for sights to see and day trips to take. I chose York as a base for a week's stay because it seemed to have direct transport to lots of places in Yorkshire that I wanted to visit without having to hassle with a car. It was exactly that with most day trips involving a train ride of 40 minutes or less. I was there during the peak of the tourist season and York itself was very crowded. But I have never visited such a friendly place. Despite the crowds (which I got used to) all the locals were unfailingly pleasant and genuinely eager to provide directions to anyone who appeared lost (me a lot of the time). I have traveled all over the world and have to say Yorkshire is tops in this regard, to say nothing of the beautiful scenery. The flat itself was located right in the center of the old town (inside the walls) and anything one might want to eat, drink or go shopping for was just steps away. The flat had everything I could possibly need or want, including a fan which was useful during a couple of days that were unusually hot for England.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, the hospitality of the owner
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic central flat ... so close to all attractions”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2012

Stayed here with my daughter in Dec '12 for my birthday. Very easy to find flat. Had been to York before, found our way to city from train station then found flat very easily. Very impressed with flat, set back from main street, so was minutes from central shops and easy walking to all main attractions. Lots of pubs/restaurants/cafes within a few minutes walk. Great instructions to get keys and we were very comfortable there. City was very busy, but was close to christmas so to be expected. Had a great time.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosepetal...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment right in the heart of York”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely apartment for 2 nights at the end of March. We wanted somewhere central that we could use as a base for sightseeing and making the most of the nightlife. We were impressed by the service from the owner, with excellent service from booking onwards. Clean, tidy, comfortable with lovely touches and a great power shower. All in all a lovely apartment and well worth it

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
We are delighted that this guest found the apartment "lovely", our service "excellent from booking onwards", and her whole experience at 14 Talbot Court entirely positive. The review presents a bit of a puzzle, however: the narrative text specifically praises the apartment for being "clean" and "comfortable" - but then in the scoring of individual aspects, both 'Comfort' and 'Cleanliness' are inexplicably marked down, giving us an overall score of 4 rather than our customary 5. A slip of the mouse, perhaps?! A comparison with other reviews suggests that this guest's written words reflect her experience more faithfully than her discrepant scoring does!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysteryfa...
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just as good the second time around!"”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This was our third visit to York and our second time renting John and Helena's excellent apartment. The apartment is well stocked with all the essentials, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom quite large and fitted with the very chic Molton Brown bath products. The location could not be better; inside the ancient walls of York and in the middle of all the historic attractions and dining. Yet, within a few minutes drive outside of the City, you are in the glorious countryside that is England! Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Moors to the east and the Dales to the west, Whitby on the coast, as well as the major cities of Leeds and Manchester and all the lovely countryside in-between. Needless to say, the jewel in York is the Minster and all the secrets it holds. Make sure you check on what's going on in York Minister. The evensong is a popular event and in December we were lucky enough to attend the Advent service and had gotten advance tickets to the Christmas Carol concert which was the highlight of our December trip. We love York! Try the Le Rustique Resturant for dinner and Starbucks is down the street from the apartment! (For my fellow American aficionados of Starbucks),many other fine places to eat as well. John has some listed in his information in the apartment. The apartment itself is tight for four, better for three ( there's a pull out couch in the LR, but ideal for two. He and Helena have another apartment on Stonegate that's more suitable for four adults; a two bedroom. Check it out. Enjoy your stay in this fantastic city. We can't wait to return again!

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location, helpful and friendly owners and a beautifully furnished apartment”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We booked Talbot Court for a weekend away. We originally looked at booking a hotel, but as we were staying for 3 nights we decided to pay a little bit extra and have an apartment we could live in rather than just stay in, it was defiantly worth it. The apartment was everything we needed and more. Not only was it cosy and true to life to the pictures on the booking site, but we found it exceeded our expectations. Perfectly located with views of York Minster the apartment was in the centre of everywhere we wanted to go. The owners of the property also ensured we found the property with ease (with the most detailed and accurate directions I have ever seen) and that we had everything we needed during our stay. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone who wants a little bit of homely luxury in an ideal location.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing