We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed - but don't sit near front door” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mumbai Lounge

Mumbai Lounge
Ranked #54 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed - but don't sit near front door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely food and helpful staff, price fair. We were unfortunately seated too near the front door which resulted in us being cold every time people entered or left the restaurant . Maybe a inner door needs to be fitted?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taintraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    308
    143
    63
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

went on saturday night and had a table booked for 9pm. arrived 10 min early and we were shown upstairs to the bar area and given the menu to look at and got a drink. after 40min no one had been to show us to a table or even take an order and at this time 2 couples behind us said they were leaving as they had been waiting nearly an hour so after another 19 min we decided to leave and went up the road to viva goa which was fantastic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pfrost90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumbaiLounge, Owner at Mumbai Lounge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am sorry to read about your experience. The Saturday night when you visited us was unexpectedly busier than normal (even late-evening after 9pm), and combined with some illness among front-of-house staff, this led to our service not being to our usual high standards.
Please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Consistently good food.
Excellent recommendation of Asams Lamb but made with chicken. It was simply full of flavour lots of meat beautifully cooked. Thank you for a lovely evening

Helpful?
Thank Paulineripom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great curry house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If this isn't the best curry house in Yorkshire its certainly the best in York. If hot curries are your thing I recomend the garlic chillie chicken, its absolutely superb. Keep up the good work guys.

Helpful?
Thank Bazzza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Night at the Mumbai”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Food was superb. The waiter very friendly but the kitchen got the order wrong and the length of time it took I thought they were away to India for the food!

Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumbaiLounge, Owner at Mumbai Lounge, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Please accept my apologies for your experience last night at the Mumbai Lounge. We should not have got your order wrong in the first place, but unfortunately we were far busier than normal for a very full Saturday night, and this placed an unexpected additional pressure on staff in the kitchens.

I hope this has not put you off the Mumbai Lounge, and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai Lounge also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing