We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant service and food”
Review of Mumbai Lounge

Mumbai Lounge
Ranked #68 of 922 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Love this restaurant. Food is fabulous, best indian we have tried. Service is great. Great value for money too

2  Thank YORKIE6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,253 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Never have prawns...me and partner both violently sick...20 mins after leaving...we both had prawns....for mains....dont do it

15  Thank Anil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumbaiLounge, Owner at Mumbai Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We do not believe that you actually visited our restaurant when you make these claims. Having looked at all of your other reviews, we believe that this is not genuine, along with many of the other 'picky' reviews you have posted.

We record all of our customers on our security system, and challenge you to come back and prove you actually came here.

We successfully had another (false) hyper-critical review removed this week. We even believe that might have been yours as well. Just have a look at all of the positive complimentary reviews before and after yours. We work very hard here. Genuine customers appreciate our efforts. And we appreciate their comments as well as their custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

As it had been a well enjoyed restaurant by previous attendees from our group, this was the choice for a work do. A party of about 15 people, pre booked and also pre-ordered as we were informed they would be busy. We arrived promptly at 8:30PM where we received popadoms and dips, which were tasty enough. But it took til 9:30PM for the people who had pre-ordered starters to get their starters - 3 or 4 people with a kebab or onion bahji is not a lot! The rest of us were starving hungry by now, and had asked waiters where our food was to be assured that it was "on its way".
We could see people coming in, ordering and being fed and leaving all the while, as well as other customers arriving to pick up take aways. We were appalled, and my partner and I had to leave to catch a train, so were forced to leave without having eaten. It took til 10:25PM for the food to be brought out.
We were not made to pay for the very little we had, a few cokes and the popadoms, and certainly had no intention of paying for the meal we never received. Though we were offered a voucher for the place due to our disastrous experience, it was no use as there is no way we will be travelling to York to eat there again!
Very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank 3113bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumbaiLounge, Owner at Mumbai Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We hold our hands up completely regarding your comments here, and we are very sorry that you had this experience of our restaurant. The food order that was sent in beforehand said to take our time as there would be some members of the party running late, and we took this in good faith. Unfortunately this proved to be not appropriate for yourselves with your time constraints at the end of your evening. We offered you a voucher in compensation, as you said.

We hope this one-off experience will not really put you off, and hope that you will try us again the next time you are in York. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Can't believe I've not been here before. Serves some really good food nicely spiced, well presented and with good service. Deserves its reputation.

1  Thank tonyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My Husband and I arrived late in the evening to this restaurant without reservation. We were immediately greeted by several waiters who promptly seated us although the place was bustling.
The interior of the restaurant is nicely decorated and the atmosphere was great.

The service was excellent throughout our visit and the food delicious. Tasty starters, mains and drinks. I would highly recommend the spiced cauliflower side dish to accompany a lamb dish.

I should also comment on the value. Coming from Edinburgh, we found this to be cheaper which was a surprise.

Will definitely return when next in York.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kristashanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai Lounge also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing