We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So courteous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mumbai Lounge

Mumbai Lounge
Ranked #57 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So courteous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

From the moment we entered to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. Coats taken, napkins placed on our knees etc etc, nothing was too much trouble, and on top of all this the food was first class and excellent value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    315
    149
    64
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“need to move this curry house to my home town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

So glad that we pre booked a table otherwise we would have had no chance of getting in on a saturday night. There is a bar area upstairs where we had drinks first, no draught beers but reasonable choice of bottled beers.
We were given the menus in the bar and starters were served within 5 mins of being seated, i had the duck tandoori, very tasty but portion a bit small even for a starter. The rest of the party were happy with portion and quality.
We all chose different curries, rice and breads, all were of a high standard, really tasty, good quality meat and served piping hot.
The staff are very attentive and the service quick and efficient. It is not a huge restaurant but has a really good atmosphere.
Next time i am back in york this restaurant will be a must to visit again.
TIP: you need to book in advance for a weekend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent meal late on a Friday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Great surroundings and the menu choice was excellent, food was very good although I wouldn't describe it as spectacular, majority of staff where friendly and helpful though one waiter was very surly. Would I recommend Mumbai Lounge? Yes, good Indian meal at a reasonable price in a pleasant environment.

Helpful?
Thank DestinationNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fast service, friendly staff, quality and quantity food, arrived after 10 p.m. but still had plenty of time for us, we were the last ones in the restaurant, but were never rushed, comfortable table, nice surroundings, open kitchen where food is cooked and prepared, looked very clean, will definetely eat here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

visrted this restaurant on my wifes birthday, the food was excellent sevice the same! we even got a cake and happy biirthday song from the waiters, a great buzz about the place! will be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai Lounge also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing