We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Willem D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal”
Reviewed August 21, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely property, perfect for a small family. Clean and well appointed, with everything you might need. I can’t imagine a better location from which to enjoy the bustling centre of York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carley C
1 review
“Entrepreneur”
Reviewed July 5, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Awesome location!! awesome apartment!! awesome owners!!! It’s a wonderful stepping out your door and seeing York cathedral only steps away. Darrell went over and above to accommodate. I would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in New York

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValF300
1 review
“Wonderful location,beautiful property and excellent welcome”
Reviewed April 28, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is a light and airy property which has been restored to a very high standard.
The property is fully equipped - even tea, coffee and home made cakes were in the kitchen when we arrived. The property is less than 100 yards from the entrance to the Minster, down a quiet cul de sac with no passing traffic. We loved the property and it's facilities. The check in was arranged to link to our train and the owners couldn't have been more helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B
1 review
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The property was located very close to York Minister, making it an ideal location to enable us to visit lots of attractions. It had everything that we could need with the added advantage of a garage. Would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair...
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is fantastic - within 150 yards of the Minster - and so is everything else. What a wonderful, comfortable place; we stayed over the Christmas weekend, visiting family each day and it could not have been more convenient, especially the attached garage that meant we didn’t have to hunt for somewhere to park. Daryl was helpful and his parents, Pam and Brian, provided a warm, friendly welcome as well as a generous arrival tray of cakes ‘n fizz. A minor difficulty with the water pressure in bath and basin upstairs did not affect us particularly - and the shower’s efficiency was unimpaired! All together we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah P
1 review
“Great location, beautiful property, fantastic owners!”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This really is a home away from home, we wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting the beautiful City of York. The property has everything you could ever need, including the benefit of a safe & secure garage, which is a huge plus as parking in the centre can be difficult. The property owners go above & beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Waking up each day with the Minster on your doorstep is priceless. It's safe to stay we will keep coming back to No.8, thank you for a lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miranda k
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing bolt hole in the very centre of york”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So happy to have found this place! The owners are incredibly accommodating and helpful, the house is lovely and clean and comfortable with everything you could need, even home baked cakes to welcome you. The location is fantastic, right next to the minster, and as there is a garage you can safely park your car and leave it there as there is so much to do in the city itself. Though
We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you Miranda, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back to No 8 at anytime, best wishes Daryl, Pam and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing