We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
York

“Proper Italian cooking”

Marzano Italian Grill
Ranked #33 of 1,032 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Description: Marzano Italian is a new Restaurant on Fossgate, York. With a warm atmosphere and authentic Italian food. Gluten free options available also.
Restaurant details
Description: Marzano Italian is a new Restaurant on Fossgate, York. With a warm atmosphere and authentic Italian food. Gluten free options available also.
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch today on a day out in York and really enjoyed it. We only had veggie pizzas but so nice to find somewhere authentically Italian that can actually make and cook pizzas properly. We lived in Italy for a while and I’m frequently appalled at the rubbish served up in Italian restaurants in the UK. We’ll certainly make this place our choice in future and try out the excellent selection of veggie options on the menu. Lovely service too and music at a sensible volume!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marzanoitalian, Owner at Marzano Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Richard, thank you very much for your 5 star review, we appreciate it!

Authentic Italian dining is what we strive for, so it's lovely to hear feedback that recognises that.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 664 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2020

My partner and I went as a birthday treat just before christmas. We booked in advance as we knew it would be busy. Restaurant itself isn't huge so I'd definatly recommend booking to guarentee a table any time of the year. We opted for starters and mains both were delicious. Portions weren't huge which was fine for us as we don't enjoy the feeling of being stuffed. Staff are very accommodating, attentive and made us feel like nothing was too much hassle. Had a lovely night and will return.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank MsAdventurer210392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marzanoitalian, Owner at Marzano Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you very much for your kind feedback, we really appreciate it! We've spent a lot of time on every aspect of our venue including the decor, atmosphere and menus, so it's always great to hear feedback that recognises that.

We hope to welcome you back to our venue again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

We booked a table at this restaurant and when we arrived, found it to be busy, friendly and bustling. The smells that hit you when you walked in were very very tempting. Shown to our seats and given menus. Not the most extensive menu but enough to get you thinking and choosing wisely! Food was tasty, good sized portions and presented well. The staff were busy and rushing about a lot but that suited us as we wanted to talk etc and not be bothered by constant interruptions.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lapsedveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marzanoitalian, Owner at Marzano Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you very much for your kind words! We've put a lot of effort into our venue decor and have passed your feedback on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for hopefully a 5 star experience next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Great little restaurant which we found by chance.
We had a Negroni to start with and bruschetta. My wife having the prawn linguine and I had the chicken risotto for our mains, all excellent. The staff were attentive but not overly intrusive. would highly recommend the restaurant, Whilst not a cheap, good value for money.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marzanoitalian, Owner at Marzano Italian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robert, thank you for your 5 star feedback, we appreciate it!

We've spent a lot of time on every aspect of our venue including the decor, atmosphere, menus and value for money, so it's always great to hear feedback like this.

We hope to welcome you back to our venue again in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

My wife and I chose Marzano for an evening meal to celebrate my birthday. Mid-January is always a tricky time for a memorable dining experience but we believe Marzano could do better. The prosecco aperitif was lacking in taste and sparkle suggesting it had been open for some time. The garlic and tomato pizza bread appetiser didn’t have any garlic taste and the tomato was an apology for how true Italian tomatoes should taste. The fried brie starter was tasty and enjoyable. My wife chose the sea bass main, which was tasty; however, the skin was not crispy and was difficult to separate from the flesh of the fish. I chose casarecce all’arrabbiata, which was al dente and had a wonderful spicy taste; however, whilst the pasta in the centre of the dish was steaming, the pasta away from the centre was quite cool. I was offered parmesan, which I said yes to but it didn’t look (or taste) fresh so had only the lightest sprinkle. We chose a bottle of primitivo to accompany the meal; it was fabulous. The staff at Marzano we’re friendly and helpful and did all they could on the night to make it a good experience but we believe it was the kitchen that didn’t deliver what was expected. On the way to Marzano from our hotel and on our way back from Marzano to our hotel we passed another Italian trattoria and on both occasions we noticed it was full to capacity; by contrast, Marzano was very quiet. We will be likely to try the other Italian trattoria next time we visit York.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marzano Italian Grill also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Marzano Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing