We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haunted, 35 Stonegate - CLOSED

Haunted, 35 Stonegate
Attraction details
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited this attraction with friends. It was over priced - £7.50 per adult & £5 per child.

You are left to walk around following the recorded voice-over description of the house. Overall we were disappointed - even the kids said "that wasn't scary".

I wouldn't recommend

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScouseChris2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    66
    46
    24
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very interesting place to visit if you like the paranormal. The place does genuinely seem haunted and this place is a great asset to York.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank boygeorgefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here about a year ago and it was just lousy tape recorded gimmicks. It wasn't scary at all.. In fact the only thing scary about it is how much you pay to get in!

Avoid!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheAnalogKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Its Not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Don't know why we did this, probably due to the rain. I am not a sceptic when it comes to spirits/ ghosts etc but this place was rubbish. You are sent into a series of dark, cold rooms to listen to an increasingly over the top recording of supposed historical events that have taken place in the house- dead babies, murdered house maids. In our party there was a 10 year old girl and even she got bored. Its all a bit of a shame because the house, due to its age, is quite atmospheric. a lot of this is lost with cheap gimmicks such as a suit of armour where the face visor lights up. The only thing spirited away was the cash out of my wallet

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mark2gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“historical haunted house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

paid 15pounds for a 15mins tour of the house... the history of the house is interesting, plus the eerieness is quite an experience... The price of it is a little steep though, if you are keen on history, this is good.. If you're looking for cheap scares, look elsewhere

Helpful?
Thank ronnieong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haunted, 35 Stonegate also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing