We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

Biltmore Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Biltmore Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our ethos is to make sure everyone feels welcome and relaxed, whether you're having a meal in our fabulous Vintage restaurant, a quick Burger in the Grill or an expertly made cocktail at the Bar.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I visited the Biltmore Bar and Grill on Saturday 14 Sept for lunch with a friend. The food was lovely and the service was very friendly.

I must admit that I am a fan of the Biltmore Bar and Grill however the decor is started to fade a bit and considering the new places to eat and drink in York I think the owners may need to spruce the place up to keep up to date!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebiltmoregrill, Public Relations Manager at Biltmore Bar and Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
You've spoken too soon! We have a re-fit planned in October! Thank you for your loyal custom and we hope you'll like what we're going to do. And don't worry, we certainly won't be fading into the background! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    139
    51
    48
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible night”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ours was a large party booking for 42 persons. The Biltmore Team organised for us the best celebratory night imaginable from start to finish. We requested a condensed 'set menu'. We were provided with a perfect choice of starter & main course options which we pre-ordered a week or so before our night. The desert was a wonderful sharing platter between 3 people. I have to say on behalf of us all. We don't know how they did it!! The restaurant is impressive, the tables were beautifully set & decorated, the food was served efficiently & was of an exceptionally high standard in both presentation & taste. The service was second to none. We had reserved booths in the bar for the disco afterwards which had a great atmosphere. Thank you so, so much!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebiltmoregrill, Public Relations Manager at Biltmore Bar and Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we're glad you had such an amazing night and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just plain poor”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

came for lunch with a group of friends on a busy saturday, we expected abit of a wait but it took nearly 30 minutes for our meals to come and unfortunatly when we got it it definatly wasnt worth the money, the ribs were burnt and the burger i ordered was very burnt the only thing that was worth any money was the pizza. as for the service we were ignored from the point of our order being taken and had no check back. we had to go and pay our bill at tge bar as we seemed to be forgotten about.

Helpful?
Thank IndirectChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thebiltmoregrill, Public Relations Manager at Biltmore Bar and Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We're sorry to hear about your experience with us. The burgers and ribs are chargrilled so may appear blackened due to the nature of how they are cooked As for the service, apologies again, on a busy service we do try our best to give everyone as much attention as possible however, depending on how busy we are, unfortunately this cannot always be achieved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality customer service”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I had just gotten married and as an after party we booked the top level for drinks, however on arrival we learnt that this was not the case. After a word with the on duty manager he immediately started working on rectifying this. It wasn't long before we were able to go upstairs and have a nice drink with friends and family in the excellent surroundings of the upper level. The on duty manager then offered us a drink on his expense which my wife took him up on,

I didn't, I as I was hammered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebiltmoregrill, Public Relations Manager at Biltmore Bar and Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad you had such a great time with us on your special day. I think there was a misunderstanding about your requirements for disabled access, but I'm glad we got this rectified for you quickly! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great for drinks”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

me and my boyfriend come here for a few drinks all the time when in york and we love it. its modern, the bar staff are helpful and friendly and the decor is really nice. the prices are quite reasonable but they arent going to be super cheap as its quite a trendy bar in a prime location but we would definately recomend it. the only downside is they dont do jack daniels, (maybe its not quite classy enough haha) !!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebiltmoregrill, Public Relations Manager at Biltmore Bar and Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our prices reflect the quality of the products we use and we only stock super premium spirits as house (unfortunately Jack Daniels doesn't fall under this category despite its popularity!). We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biltmore Bar and Grill also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Biltmore Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing