We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farthings Guest House
Ranked #51 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for five nights. Breakfast each morning was outstanding with food to cater for all tastes and plenty of it. Cooked to order. Beds very comfortable, shower hot and all in all a thoroughly pleasant and relaxing stay. Spottlesly clean. Good location within easy reach of rail station and city centre. We were reluctant to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy if traffic is a problem, so choose a room to the rear of the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I frequently stay at the Farthings for business, but would stay here for leisure too! Helen and her team go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, breakfasts cooked to order, and the beds warm and comfy. Its not like a b&b more like a boutique hotel.
Anyone who reads my reviews, knows that when I rebook a place its because its good. Stay here 3 times a year! Excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeAmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early November 2013.
Lovely warm (not overpowering) welcome. Fantastic warm, clean well equipped room. Very quiet, a great nights sleep.
The 'Full English' breakfast,cooked and presented by the host family, was just perfect and their attention to detail was spot on!
Well Done Helen!! - 10/10
I'm sure you haven't seen the last of us!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

just stayed at the farthings lovely people lovely place to stay and great breakfast. plus ideal location for the races or the town centre would certainly stay here again. bedrooms were spotlessly clean nice comfy beds and breakfast was spot on

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I booked this B&B for just 2 nights over the weekend to join friends for a hen party. The guest house is spotless and well maintained, lots of lovely features. The rooms are very warm and welcoming. The owners are very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast is first class, with lots of choice - healthy options as well as a full English breakfast which I must say is cooked to perfection, no greasy eggs and bacon here - perfect! Will definitely book another stay if re-visiting York in the future...

Room Tip: Don't be put off booking a room without facilities here! Rooms on top level very peaceful for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

we booked this short break for our wedding anniversary only concern being the shared bathroom which turned out to be no problem at all we found the Farthings to be one of the best places we have had the pleasure of staying in the room was clean warm and comforting and the staff were polite and accommodating breakfast was very good with excellent choice could recommend this guest house to anybody

Room Tip: personal choice we would prefer en-suite but shared bathroom was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights with my husband and granddaughter (age 8). There was a very warm welcome and we were made to feel very at home. Our family room was excellent, excellent cleanliness, very comfy beds and very well equipped. Lovely breakfast with locally sourced ingredients that sets you up for a good days sightseeing. Thanks Helen and family for a lovely half term break, I am sure you will see us again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#9 of 194 in York
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley House
Ashley House
#18 of 194 in York
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#61 of 194 in York
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
877 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Guest House
City Guest House
#38 of 194 in York
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Guest House

Address: 5 Nunthorpe Avenue, York YO23 1PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $91 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farthings Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Farthings Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing