We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent eating”
Review of The Go Down

The Go Down
Reserve with OpenTable
The Go Down is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent eating”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived with party of 7. restaurant was quiet so service was quick and friendly but it pays to book ahead. Good selection on menu with reasonable pricing and can confirm black pudding starter is excellent. We picked this venue as it had trip adviser review in window and we were not disappointed. Near the centre and river it is a half landing below street level which is quite unusual but surrounding were pleasant and staff attentive, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    242
    77
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb food, attentive service”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Food very good, excellent black pudding starter, nice red cabbage. Service also good. Couldn't get the fixed price set menu as it was a Saturday after 6:30pm, but this looks outstanding value. Only complaint was that it was uncomfortably hot, a combination of the weather and a full restaurant. Booking essential.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Value and quality”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Because of the good Tripadvisor reviews I decided to book The Go Down for our visit to York. Mother and I picked from the fixed price choices, I went for chicken wrapped in bacon in a red wine sauce. Mother went for the slow cooked lamb. My other half chose the special dish which was Sea Bream. Lovely veg came to us all red cabbage, roast potatoes, peas. Before the main course came a loaf of delicious bread with garlic butter and butter. Thank goodness we didn't eat all that because the portion size of the mains was ideal. A bottle of Chilean Merlot was also ordered. Staff very friendly and efficient. The value? £66 for all of that was excellent and when we come back to York we will visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dpleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little gem in the city”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Visiting York for the first time we were looking for somewhere that served really good food for a nice evening meal. Originally approached 31 Castlegate who although offered us a table we would have to had to vacated within the hour. Asked if they could recommend anywhere else close by and they said The Go Down. Great little place. Yes the tables are packed close together but depends how you look at it, to me this adds to the atmosphere. Overall dining experience was excellent. Staff were very friendly and attentive. We had out 4yr old with us and were advised that they did not have a kids menu (which to be honest we hadn't expected anyway) but did however offer to cook him fish fingers and chips so he was more than happy. Mix of couples/groups. Food served promptly, risotto, Yorkshire pudding and both steaks lovely, wine also very nice. Good value for money. Can't fault this little find.....we will be back. Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacolin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

One of the best meals we have had in a long time. The food was excellent quality cooked and served to perfection. The choice on the menu was very good and the presentation of the meal was excellent. There is a fixed price menu which is great value. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, right from taking the booking over the phone to serving all courses. An added bonus is the lovely small hot crusty loaf served with both plain and garlic & herb butter. The decor is lovely, nice and bright. Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant and will definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavenderblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Go Down also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Go Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing