We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday do”
Review of The Go Down

The Go Down
Reserve with OpenTable
The Go Down is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday do”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked for group of friends. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The restaurant is small but you are not crowded in. Very good menu with good choices for the veggies in our party and two on a gluten free diet. The food was delicious with nice veg and potatoes. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. Would recommend but you will need to book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    247
    78
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous food, excellent service.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaitant last night and can honestly say it was one of the best meals we have ever had. The staff at the restaurant could not do enough for you and were especially good with the gluten free options for my girlfriend who regarded it as the best gluten free meal she has ever had. Very recommended but phone up to book first to avoid disappointment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west runton cromer
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate from the fixed price menu, £12.50 for one course. The salmon, cod and prawn cheesy bake, served with red cabbage, mustard grain mash and roast potatoes, was delicious. Staff very courteous and helpful. Good gluten free choices clearly stated on menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julesandcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Love this gem!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I and several family members, and friends have been dining here for some years and love the place! The choice of menu, and wines are excellent. The service is first class as is the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madmikemacgyver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york.uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have been to the Go Down so many times, I've lost count. The food is always excellent and in plenty supply. I first went there with my partner, then the family and we even use it for our Work's Staff Do's. Everytime we get superb service with all the staff very cheerful, fast and professional. I can't praise this place too highly. Would recommend it everytime. Spot on!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smeg1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Go Down also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Go Down? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing