We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
York Caravan Park YCP
Nearby Hotels
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
$121
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
128
20
6
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
20
6
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely siteshower blockbus stopmonks crosshard standingtoby carveryfishing lakeretail parkbus servicefully serviced pitchesindividual shower roomslarge pitcheshighly recommend this siteindividual pitchesprivate showergrey waterwaste water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 160 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just spent a lovely week at this site, we were welcomed by the site owner and shown to our pitch
the pitch was nice and large with nicely cut grass and it overlooked the lake which was very nice .
the toilet block has got to be the best we have ever seen , with individual rooms which had shower ,sink and toilet and always plenty of hot water.
the site is on the bus route to York and you can catch the bus from across the road every half hour at a cost of £3 return.
We tried the Toby carvery which is just up the road and found it good value for money, also Monks Cross retail park is only a couple of miles away with a good selection of shops and a 24 hour asda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitNorthLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just had a few days here. Made welcome on arrival - our first vist. Very relaxing and the Coastliner buses to and from York were frequent and made it easy to visit.The toilet blocks are better than even the best Club sites and the well manicured grass is a credit to the groundsman. Nice to see the contented fishermen - overall a pleasant experience which we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked York Caravan Park after reading previous reviews and was very disappointed. It's a relatively new site with a large pond in the middle.
Hard standing pitches and black gravel and not really suitable for putting an awning up on. We moved our little caravan over and erected the awning on the grass which worked better.
We weren't lucky enough to be looking into the pond and our view was of the toilet block and other caravans/tents. Not exactly scenic.
The toilet block in the middle of the site is huge. In fact we couldn't figure out why it needed to be so large. There were 8 extra large unisex shower cubicles and a further 2 showers in either the ladies or gents toilets. Each extra large shower cubicle had a single small shower cabinet. Unfortunately the doors were corner openers and the water operated with a push button system. I found it took a couple of pushes to rinse my face never mind about getting soap out of your hair - very poor system - also no way to change water temperature, you are at the mercy of what comes out. So to initially heat the water up you had to push the button and quickly close the door as the water flooded out onto the floor. Rather dirty mops were provided at the side of the shower enclosure to mop the floor dry again. There were no benches or chairs to sit on and most of the toilet lids were loose (I assumed people were using them to sit on). The lighting system operates on movement and unfortunately most of the motion sensors are at the opposite end of the room from the mirrors. So if you need to dry your hair ladies or apply cosmetics be prepared to do a lot of arm waving! Toilets/showers also weren't the cleanest. Don't think the cleaner had figured out what to do with the corners. On 2 separate mornings I ended up using the ladies only showers as the cubicles were dirty. I don't think I'm too fussy but jumping into a shower covered in male body hair is a definite no no as far as I'm concerned.
The site is in a rural location and to access the nearest pub (it's actually a Toby Carvery) you either drove or took your chances on walking up a fairly busy road with no path and then trekking through a field. We drove and didn't drink - it was safer.
The bus service which runs into York was unreliable. Twice we waited for buses shown on the timetable which didn't arrive.
The bus drivers were all very kind and helpful though.
This is not a site we would return to. I can honestly say we've been on better 3 star sites. I think it has the potential to be better if the owners put a bit more thought into it. Perhaps in a few years time when the shrubs and trees etc have grown it'll be a bit less bland.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank VintageChicMarkinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at this wonderful place, The site is one of the best if not the best we have stayed at. Exclusive for adults which I think can be quite nice if you want some peace without the run around of children, (don't get me wrong I don't mind children) The site staff are lovely, very welcoming and the site is immaculate, there are 8 shower rooms each contain shower cubicle, sink, toilet, hair dryer shaving points and hand dryers, the rooms are huge! there are separate male/female toilets probably 6 toilets/sinks maybe plus 2 separate showers in there also. There is a separate room which had sinks for washing up, a washer dryer and an iron and board. The pitches themselves were all separated by little hedges and they were also huge pitches our tent is 21ft by 17ft and we had loads of room, all pitches have hook up and water taps, The site also has a lake for onsite fishing and had tables with benches around for if you just wanted to sit and watch the ducks or people fishing or even just chill. This site is very chilling I feel like I have been away for ages I'm so relaxed. There is a bus stop right out site the site which is £3 return to york which is every 30mins @ quarter past and quarter to the hr which saves on parking in a busy town which is £9 for the day. Nearby we found a right gem of a place called piglets park farm shop which is 1.5 miles away and the butchers is brilliant has some gorgeous meats/veg/cheese etc also has a play thing for the kiddies (not that we had any with us) and has a gorgeous little restaurant the plank is a defo must if you go there. also a go outdoors just down the road if you need any spares.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoChrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a lovely site, with a pond and ducks making it a quaint and relaxing place to stay. There is a local bus to York on the doorstep and a pub which serves a good value roast carvery, a short walk away across the fields. The shower block is a touch of luxury and certainly sets the standard!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCTCCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews