We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer, food, entertainment, close to historic city”
Review of Edinburgh Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edinburgh Arms
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in York
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beer, food, entertainment, close to historic city”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a fab place, Iv not stayed here overnight but visit often for a meal and then Jam Night on Thursday evening with many local musicians keeping the locals entertained till last orders. We were here Christmas Eve when they had a live band, havent had so much fun for ages, well done to Travelin' Band and to landlord and lady who were both in Fancy dress for a fun night !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Fantastic and enjoyable stay, lots going on. Great atmosphere. Close to city centre. Would recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaGeorge30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

£25 pp inc. breakfast!!! £30 pp over a weekend!!! Accommodation in York can be pricey but this place is a hidden gem for those who go OUT and just need a clean and comfortable bed to stay in with large, traditional rooms. I don't think they advertise that much so even at short notice ... you could get lucky. The pub itself is a sports bar with real ale but there was no noise eminating to the bedroom side of the place. A great great breakfast. Dave is a friendly and relaxed host. A taxi ride into the Minster costs £3.50-ish and with free car parking at the pub, it's a simple equation ... either stroll for 10 minutes or hitch a taxi-ride. Also, the pubs in this part of town are magnificent if you're going to York to sample the brilliant ale culture ... start the tour right HERE! Really comfortable beds - simple rooms, no-frills, just pay for the room and get on with it! ENJOY!

Room Tip: We were given the 'family room' - double with a single bed and it was massive and so was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This place is that good im blocked booked in it for 16 weeks while working in york and we have been to many other b& b's and this is by far the best

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthonystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Have holidayed in York for many years and have always found the Edinburgh Arms to be an excellent base. Good accommodation with comfortable, clean bed; great friendly and reliable service from Dave and Lorraine; fantastic evening meals and breakfasts; great bar selection (including real ales); free car parking.
The Edinburgh Arms isa a great place to stay - With en-suite rooms from around £20 or £25 per night, why waste your money on the nearby multi-chain hotels which charge considerably more and don't provide the personal service? The Edinburgh Arms provides tremendous value for money.
The Edinburgh Arms is only about 5 minutes walk from the City centre and is on the route of the local tour buses.
Next door to the Barbican Centre which offers a wide range of entertainment: from music to snooker.
DO NOT HESITATE TO STAY AT THE EDINBURGH ARMS - I THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have stayed at this pub many times and have always found Dave and Lol friendly and welcoming. The pub is excellent value and will always be on my list of where to stay in York.
I happened to be staying one night when two drunkards returned at about half past midnight and demanded that they be served drinks all night because they were residents and legally entitled. When Dave refused, due to the time and the state of the two persons, they started getting abusive and argumentative but after some persuasion eventually went to bed.
A short time after this, a very vindictive review appeared on this site from none other than the drunks in question, clearly too embarrassed to reveal their real names and going under the pseudonym SCHMOOLO.
So i would take this review with a very large bunch of sour grapes

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonDavieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

this is a good basic pub B & B. Close to York City centre. Room clean and tidy, excellent breakfast. On the route of the City Tour Bus. Ideal for those who come to spend time touring the city's many attractions. Evening meals are available at a reasonable price.
Bar has Real Ale.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.1 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#32 of 46 in York
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Arms

Property: Edinburgh Arms
Address: 25 Fishergate, York YO10 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in York
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Arms Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing