We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay and Eat”
Review of Edinburgh Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edinburgh Arms
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Have holidayed in York for many years and have always found the Edinburgh Arms to be an excellent base. Good accommodation with comfortable, clean bed; great friendly and reliable service from Dave and Lorraine; fantastic evening meals and breakfasts; great bar selection (including real ales); free car parking.
The Edinburgh Arms isa a great place to stay - With en-suite rooms from around £20 or £25 per night, why waste your money on the nearby multi-chain hotels which charge considerably more and don't provide the personal service? The Edinburgh Arms provides tremendous value for money.
The Edinburgh Arms is only about 5 minutes walk from the City centre and is on the route of the local tour buses.
Next door to the Barbican Centre which offers a wide range of entertainment: from music to snooker.
DO NOT HESITATE TO STAY AT THE EDINBURGH ARMS - I THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO ALL.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2011

I have stayed at this pub many times and have always found Dave and Lol friendly and welcoming. The pub is excellent value and will always be on my list of where to stay in York.
I happened to be staying one night when two drunkards returned at about half past midnight and demanded that they be served drinks all night because they were residents and legally entitled. When Dave refused, due to the time and the state of the two persons, they started getting abusive and argumentative but after some persuasion eventually went to bed.
A short time after this, a very vindictive review appeared on this site from none other than the drunks in question, clearly too embarrassed to reveal their real names and going under the pseudonym SCHMOOLO.
So i would take this review with a very large bunch of sour grapes

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LondonDavieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

this is a good basic pub B & B. Close to York City centre. Room clean and tidy, excellent breakfast. On the route of the City Tour Bus. Ideal for those who come to spend time touring the city's many attractions. Evening meals are available at a reasonable price.
Bar has Real Ale.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I moved here after a disastrous stay at another hotel in York. Excellent service - tahnk you so much for saving my weekend away!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank TopTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Just don't do it to yourself! I will never, ever be going back here in my life time.
If you want dirty sheets, a ransid bathroom and a window that doesnt lock then be my guest.
It cost us £50 up front for what was advertised as B&B. My thinking is that is ment to be Bead & Breakfast? Well its not here. Not that you would want to eat here anyway.
At 1st it seems ok. But when you start to settle in you start to see things.
Mould on the shower head and tiles. White, well whats ment to be white "BROWN" shower matt and toilet matt. Things just dont seem to be clean.
Then you fancy some tea and you look in the cup and find that the cups havn't been cleaned. So you start to look even closer and find someones dirty socks in the wardrobe, then you check the sheets and they have black marks on the sheets.
Lets just say we slept fully clothed on top of the bed and couldn't bring ourselves to wash in the shower.
Like i said Just dont do it to yourself!!!!!!

10  Thank schmoolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge York Central
1.3 mi away
Travelodge York Hull Road
0.8 mi away
Jorvik House
Jorvik House
#41 of 47 in York
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#6 of 47 in York
734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Arms

Address: 25 Fishergate, York YO10 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in York
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Arms Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing