We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little inn, in the centre of York”
Review of Lamb & Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lamb & Lion Inn
Ranked #34 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walkington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little inn, in the centre of York”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I staying at the lamb and lion on a Tuesday night and the atmosphere was friendly and warm. The bar is small but we sat in the beer garden outside where you can hear the York minster and see the city walls. We didn't eat at the lamb and lion but the food looked good and there was a lot of people enjoying their food.
The room was very clean and welcoming. I would stay at the lamb and lion again but not in the room we had, as we were in 'the attic' as suggested the room was at the top of the hotel. The stairs to the room were so steep I dreaded coming down with my over night bag!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbey-ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    325
    119
    61
    20
See reviews for
86
593
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped for lunch on our last day here, we had spotted the pub garden from the city walls where we had walked the previous day. The food was great, although they had run out of the hot roast beef sandwich which on another plate looked amazing, we opted for the Club Sandwich with home cooked fat chips......and we were not disappointed......Good location we ate in the garden, which is super. We will definitely visit again when we next go to York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jussy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I caught up with a friend that I hadn't seen in a few years and we met half way which landed us in York. We stayed at the Lamb and Lion. Don't know why we chose that place, but am so glad we did. All the staff where ever so friendly and helpful, the breakfast we had was really yummy and great quality food. The room was clean, the bed was comfy. They also have this wonderful beer garden and because of the beautiful weather we spent some time out there catching up on each others news. I will definitely recommend it to everyone. Wonderful place and thank you for a wonderful time spent there

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and although there isn't anything to complain about too much, we wouldn't stay again. The location was great, very central and I think this is what you pay for.
We had room 8, right at the top! Luckily we're a fit young couple - you might get a bit fed up of all the stairs otherwise! Room was well presented, but higgledy piggledy and the bed was rather small.
It was also VERY noisy, as being on an enclosed street, noise from outside the pub travelled up to the room and we had two terrible nights sleep.
I would suggest that a separate check in is created for hotel guests, as having to queue at the bar with your bags and pay a large sum in front of a lot of people is off putting.
Service was ok, breakfast was delicious - a definite highlight!
Overall for the price we paid I was rather disappointed, but glad for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaghetti3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Four of us ate here one evening. The food was good. Prices maybe slightly above usual pub grub prices but the food was above the usual pub grub standards. Friendly staff too. We ate in the garden, which is super. Will definitely visit again when we next go to York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in the hotel but went in for a meal. The food was lovely, best chips ever! The prices are reasonable and we would return again if back in York. Would recommend to friends. We already told other guests in the B and B's we stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma271186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived at the Lamb & Lion Inn late, when the pub was busy. I went all around the place several times in search of Reception. There was no sign to tell guests where to go - and all the while my husband was parked on a double yellow line outside ... When I enquired with the bar staff, it turned out that the bar was also Reception. We had to shout at each other to sort everything out.

We had the Attic Room, which is absolutely amazing. It is large and beautifully furnished. I expected to hear noise from the pub below, but we didn't. The room was nice and clean, the towels large, thick and fluffy. I could imagine the Attic getting hot on a summer's day, but there is also a fan. And there won't be that many unbearably hot days in York.

There is no breakfast buffet - except for cereal, jam, milk and juices - but table service. The menu has a good selection (although not very exciting for vegetarians) and breakfast was very tasty. However, I like my coffee in the morning, but there is no self-service for coffee and we only got one cup each. No refill was offered. The staff had quite a journey from the bar/kitchen as well, so you feel kind of bad asking for more coffee.

The Lamb & Lion is situated very close to the Minster and you can walk York town centre quite easily from there. Unfortunately, this handy situation also means that there is no parking. You can get a ticket from the bar staff, which will allow you to park in one of the public car parks (not as close as one would have hoped) for £5 a day.

On the whole, I would recommend the Lamb & Lion Inn and certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Attic Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guy Fawkes Inn
Guy Fawkes Inn
#43 of 192 in York
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fort Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Judges Court Hotel
Judges Court Hotel
#46 of 192 in York
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb & Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb & Lion Inn

Property: Lamb & Lion Inn
Address: 2-4 High Petergate, York YO1 7EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamb & Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining Bootham Bar, the Lamb & Lion Inn offers en-suite rooms with free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s and award-winning Two AA Rosette food. Each of the twelve rooms have been individually decorated, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Some of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn offers real ales from local breweries and serves modern British pub food. York Minster is just a 2-minute walk away and both the National Railway Museum and The Shambles are within a 10-minute walk too. Discounted parking is also available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lamb & Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Lion Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing