We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of The Willows

The Willows
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #148 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This B & B must be one of the most picturesque around.The huge lake which our room overlooked was a great view through the trees.The room itself was comfortable and well equipped.The whole house was very clean and was under the watchful eye of the owners Paul and Cath who were very welcoming.The full english breakfast was well cooked and excellent quality.There are quality pubs and restaurants within easy driving reach and the park and ride system into York takes the strain out of going to sightsee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this great bed and breakfast we were greeted by Paul who seemed to very co-operative. The view was great with beautiful trees and massive pond. Your allowed to take a walk around where you can see his pets which include parrots!!!!! The TV was a good size plasma tv with all the channels working well. The breakfast was your normal basic B & B breakfast there were no time limits which i thought was great Paul told us we can have it at anytime be it 7.30am or 11am! The only negative is that it is around 3 miles away from central York. Plenty of car parking space. Genuine Host. Great stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asdaq786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had 2 nights at the B&B, Cath and Paul very lovely people and caring hosts. Paul gave us lots of information and directions to everywhere we wanted to go. Even lent us a dvd to watch when we decided to stay in one night! :-) There was a little seating area as an adjoining room, which was nice to watch tv. Lovely big bathroom (does have a sloping roof, but no problem)
There is a park & ride 5 mins away that takes you into York for £2.60 return. Lots of local eating places close to Willows. We dined at a Chinese called Sweet Basil, it was really lovely and a very friendly service. We also went to the Victoria, fantastic food and good portions (an Ex Leeds players owns and runs it)
We had a very pleasant stay and would like to thank Paul and Cath for their hospitatlity!x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaB067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived at this B&B as pre-booked 26 to 29 April 2013 where we were made welcome and dietary needs (coeliac/gluten free alongside vegetarian) were met. The B&B was clean and comfortable, what we liked the most was that we had our own small sitting room area; this was good as it enabled us to relax and have family time, I had arranged to meet my son here with him travelling from South of England any myself from Scotland, we had not seen each other for a few months and time out was of importance to both of us, the separate living area from twin bedded area made this precious time possible. All in all a good stay with all basic needs met..

Room Tip: Twin bedded room has separate sitting room area therefore you don't feel that you are in the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine140856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Typical farmhouse B&B. Had to remove shoes to enter which was a pain but the rooms were large enough, ours had a separate sitting room to watch TV, bathroom was ok and a shower that required a bit of skill to use. Lovely surrounds to the house and hosts were friendly and happy to offer advice and suggestions. Good breakfast in the morning. Wifi available and good parking off the road. A family business operating a sideline to other things, more than happy too suggest that this is a good place to stay. Close enough to York and the Red Lion pub in Knapston, about 3 mile back towards York is worth heading to,for dinner, great people and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Never stayed in a worst room.Double bed was two singles stuck together.Both myself and my life partner woke up with bad backs after sleeping on a prison bed.Had to remove shoes and felt like i was staying at my nans.it cost us 80pounds in taxi`s into york town in total and unable to have food delivered as it was very remote.It was like something from scooby-doo.Sleep with one eye open.

Room Tip: Dont bother go to a premier inn near the town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wetwilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The room was very good and en suite adequate,however, if you like cold cooked breakfast,with just 2 choices of cereal, and hosts who do not ask you what cooked items you want, and when you do ask for some items and not others are told brakfast is already cooked, then this is the B & B for you. Very expensive compared to the competition. For the same price you could have stayed at Rowan House, Stamford -Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albion95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
2.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,161 reviews
9.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: On the A59, near Hessay, York YO26 8JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing