We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxed and welcoming stay”
Review of The Willows

The Willows
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #151 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had 2 nights at the B&B, Cath and Paul very lovely people and caring hosts. Paul gave us lots of information and directions to everywhere we wanted to go. Even lent us a dvd to watch when we decided to stay in one night! :-) There was a little seating area as an adjoining room, which was nice to watch tv. Lovely big bathroom (does have a sloping roof, but no problem)
There is a park & ride 5 mins away that takes you into York for £2.60 return. Lots of local eating places close to Willows. We dined at a Chinese called Sweet Basil, it was really lovely and a very friendly service. We also went to the Victoria, fantastic food and good portions (an Ex Leeds players owns and runs it)
We had a very pleasant stay and would like to thank Paul and Cath for their hospitatlity!x

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaB067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for The Willows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived at this B&B as pre-booked 26 to 29 April 2013 where we were made welcome and dietary needs (coeliac/gluten free alongside vegetarian) were met. The B&B was clean and comfortable, what we liked the most was that we had our own small sitting room area; this was good as it enabled us to relax and have family time, I had arranged to meet my son here with him travelling from South of England any myself from Scotland, we had not seen each other for a few months and time out was of importance to both of us, the separate living area from twin bedded area made this precious time possible. All in all a good stay with all basic needs met..

Room Tip: Twin bedded room has separate sitting room area therefore you don't feel that you are in the bed...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine140856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Typical farmhouse B&B. Had to remove shoes to enter which was a pain but the rooms were large enough, ours had a separate sitting room to watch TV, bathroom was ok and a shower that required a bit of skill to use. Lovely surrounds to the house and hosts were friendly and happy to offer advice and suggestions. Good breakfast in the morning. Wifi available and good parking off the road. A family business operating a sideline to other things, more than happy too suggest that this is a good place to stay. Close enough to York and the Red Lion pub in Knapston, about 3 mile back towards York is worth heading to,for dinner, great people and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Never stayed in a worst room.Double bed was two singles stuck together.Both myself and my life partner woke up with bad backs after sleeping on a prison bed.Had to remove shoes and felt like i was staying at my nans.it cost us 80pounds in taxi`s into york town in total and unable to have food delivered as it was very remote.It was like something from scooby-doo.Sleep with one eye open.

Room Tip: Dont bother go to a premier inn near the town centre.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wetwilly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The room was very good and en suite adequate,however, if you like cold cooked breakfast,with just 2 choices of cereal, and hosts who do not ask you what cooked items you want, and when you do ask for some items and not others are told brakfast is already cooked, then this is the B & B for you. Very expensive compared to the competition. For the same price you could have stayed at Rowan House, Stamford -Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albion95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Room excellent, shower a little technical? Breakfast fantastic. Helpfulness of Paul... wonderful. Highly recommended. Close to York, the Dales, North York moors etc.
Definitely worth taking the park and ride service....just down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Great place to stay if you are exploring the area in and around York.
The hosts Cath and Paul made us feel very welcome and always available to help with any requests we had, even going to the trouble of printing off a train time table of the local service which enabled us to travel to York by rail instead of taking the car.
Our room was very comfortabe and clean and although it's a small touch the convenience of having clothes hooks on the back of the bedroom and bathroom door was a welcome convenience that a lot of big hotels don't seem to have any more!
We enjoyed having a small sitting room just off the bedroom which made it more spacious and enjoyable to go back to after a day of sightseeing.
The gardens are lovely and we enjoyed a couple of late evening walks around the lake, very peaceful and relaxing before settling down for the night.
Breakfast was freshly cooked, tasty and plentiful.
There is a great Italian restaurant just a two minute drive away with a good selection of takeaways and is reasonably priced.
The only downside to The Willows is the fact that the driveway leading to the house is situated off a busy main road which makes it a little dangerous to walk anywhere outside the grounds but it's just a short drive away to the lovely village of Poppleton where we recommend parking up your car and taking the bus or train to York town centre which will take around 10/15mins.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
3.5 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Willow House B & B
Willow House B & B
#89 of 194 in York
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thistledown House B&B
Thistledown House B&B
#1 of 2 in Green Hammerton
147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#13 of 54 in York
810 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Green Hammerton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Address: On the A59, near Hessay, York YO26 8JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $87 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Willows 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing