We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed there for 2 weeks, homefeel though the room is quite small”
Review of The Park View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Park View
Ranked #171 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Gena is a great lady, best breakfast place, fresh flower and good music. Despite my room was really compact, I enjoyed. To city centre less than 15 min. I liked the biscuit with tea very very much!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for The Park View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

Friendly obliging staff. Incredibly clean. Really good breakfast with vegetarian option etc etc. Close to York centre situated in quiet road. Free on street parking provided with no availability problems.

Make sure that you book "The Park View", Grosvenor Terrace. Do not confuse with the similarly named "Park View Guesthouse", Haxby Road.

If a guest house is your thing you won't go far wrong staying at "The Park View"!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Gaynor and Andy were lovely hosts! My friend and I took a train up late on a Friday so they had to make special arrangements for our arrival and they were very accommodating. The rooms were bright and tasteful, and had tea, hot chocolate, coffee and biscuits for our enjoyment. The beds were very lush and comfortable (made it hard to leave in the morning). The location is not in the center of York but about a 5 or 6 minute walk outside the walls, on a quiet street. The english breakfasts offered in the morning were delicious and gave us a hearty start to our day. I would absolutely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in York.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

we had a fantastic holiday and stay at the park view. cleanliness first class. cosy and warm.hospitality very welcoming. food great and well presented with good portions. the bedroom we had was very comfortable and spacious. peaceful and quiet. perfect location about 10 min walk into the town with plenty to do and see. will definately be back. the owners are a lovely couple making you so welcome. one wee tip there are two park view guests houses just make sure you book the one on 34 grosvenor terrace not the one on haxby road. thanks gaynor for helping to make our holiday in york a goodin!!!! barry and elaine, scotland

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kafkaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Had a really nice break in York. The Park View Guest House Grosvenor Terrace was lovely & a great location to stay we were made to feel really welcome & the breakfast was excellent . Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingfisher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My partner and I booked a couple of nights at Park View guest house, based on misleading photographs on their web site, We were booked into a 4 poster bedroom no 3 , which was a complete farcel as the room was tiny ! the en- suite if you can call it that , was more or less a cupboard with a tiny shower and toilet ! the sink was situated right next to the bed, in an already crowded room, breakfast was served between 8-9am , however the smells of cooking at 7am and the actual breakfast served was proof that the food had been prepared well in advance - rock hard bacon and sausage! the towels had seen better days and were no longer white or fluffy. A complete rip-off at £90 per night.
1!1

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert209942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this lovely B&B. We were very pleased with the friendly service provided. The location was perfect; only 5 mins walk into the center of town. Parking is on street and the B&B provides a permit. The room was very comfortable and I loved the smell of the clean sheets. Breakfast was Full English with choice of cereals. They also provide a veggetarian option. Tea, hot chocolate, and bottle of water are provided in the bedroom and there was a large amount of channels on the tv. The en-suite bathroom was good and clean. The only thing I might say that may concern some people is the fact that our window had no lock. We were not on the ground floor and weren't carrying anything valuable like passports so it didn't matter to us. The neighborhood looks very safe. Overall we were very happy with our stay and Gaynor was very nice. She was very helpful with advice and pleasant to speak to. We would stay again :o)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frijolitauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#172 of 194 in York
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Feversham Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
648 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park View

Address: 22 Haxby Road, York YO31 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing