We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice bar type food”
Review of Oscars

Oscars
Ranked #165 of 869 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Bar, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice bar type food”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Been here a few times. In fact had my engagement do a few years ago whe it was in a different venue. Menu has stayed the same, which one the one hand is good as it is pretty nice. On the other hand a little more variety wouldn't go amiss. Tower burger is nice

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    270
    88
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Been here quite a few times and it seems in my opinion standards are slipping. Staff seemed rushed thus making it feel a hurried meal and no mention of if we enjoyed our meal! They just seem to have lost customer care. Meals were large as usual but it seems quantity over quality im afraid. Get rid of the awful tin mushrooms chef and replace with fresh, and maybe homemade onion rings aswell. I could go on but im not going to , just wont be rushing back as theres hundreds of restaurants to tempt me instead.shame.

Helpful?
Thank Tidskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food great but get here early”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Visited here again on a recent trip to York and was pleased to find it was every bit as good as last time. Learning from experience, we had one starter between us, from the daily specials, cheesy garlic bread with red onion chutney. The chutney was mixed into the cheese, which I wasn't expecting, but it was very tasty. We arrived fairly early on a Thursday night and the restaurant filled up quickly around us. Staff were busy, but it wasn't hard to get their attention when you wanted something and the plates were cleared quickly. Prices are reasonable and the portions are epic. Even after sharing a starter, we couldn't finish our mains; we both went for the renowned Oscar's Special Burger. Very tasty and clearly made from scratch and huge! No question of having a dessert, but we weren't hurried and finished our bottle of wine at our leisure. The music may be a little loud for some, but it's a great place for catching up with friends and having a good meal in a lively atmosphere.

One very minor quibble was that one of the ladies loos was out of action and the other two were in a bit of a mess. Even after mentioning this to the staff, it was just the same when we left, a couple of hours later; I would have expected the loos to be checked on regularly anyway and certainly for them to be cleaned up once it had been pointed out. Other than that, a great visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenhfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fast and buzzing”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Typical of many of the York eateries - very busy, buzzy and similar menu to most York menus. Very tasty food and good service, but nothing that special.

Helpful?
Thank PearlandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exciting, lively & fun!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great menu, food was delicious, well priced & staff were brilliant. Not a place for quiet romantic meal. This is restaurant has atmosphere, lively music & va va voom!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscars also viewed

 

Been to Oscars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing