We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry was nice, nan bread was cold.”
Review of Saffron Desi - CLOSED

Saffron Desi
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
182 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Curry was nice, nan bread was cold.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner and I visited here last month, we were attracted by the huge nan breads.

We both had the a-la-carte menu, there was a buffet but for some reason this was not offered to us, but people arriving later did order this.

The currys and starters were really good actually, the bread although impressive on the eye was luke warm at best, I think if it had been hot it would have been excellent.

The staff were ok, not overly attentive but not the worst either. The restaurant is pretty big so lacks atmosphere when there is only 4 tables occupied.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apache_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    70
    34
    30
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Curry”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Been here several times and really enjoyed it. However we went recently and the standard of food was appalling. My chicken curry consisted of chicken wings in a curry sauce with more bone then meat. I was very disappointed as I am use to nice chunks of boneless chicken.
The chef was dressed very scruffy and dirty which is enough to put anyone off there meal.

Very disappointed and will not return. Such a shame as it use to be a nice place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham16021974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spot On”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Ate here Thursday evening and the food was faultless, though an earlier comment about a little more guidance about spiciness is valid. I like mine hot and the Peshwari Delight was above average for fire and could have caught out the unsuspecting!
The layout is clean tidy and welcoming and the staff helpful and informative about the food.
I struggle to give much credit to the poor reviews, based on our experience.
By the way, watch out for the Nans!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well-stuffed”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a very good quality meal here. Food very well-cooked using fresh spices rather than bought-in pastes. Encouraged to have special starter, and it was excellent with fresh paneer and tasty samosas. Peshwari Nan was delicious, freshly made and well-stuffed. Unfortunately didn't have much room for my vegatable biryiani after that, which was a shame as it was good. Good and attentive service from our waiter Abid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestwasthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went on a birthday night out and had the buffet. Good value for money, unless your a vegetarian as i am! Starter was not too bad, but battered mushrooms included are not really an Indian starter. Then you have Tarka dal and one curry as your buffet choice. Shame, when Indian food offers plenty of dishes for vegetarians. It was just chicken,and more chicken.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Black-Sheep10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Desi also viewed

 
Strensall, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing