We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Mary's Guest House
Ranked #47 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a two night stay here and left feeling impressed and sure we'd return. The location is excellent and just a 5 minute walk for the centre of town. The rooms are comfortable and include reliable free wifi.

Breakfast was delicious and, as well as an excellent cooked selection, there's nice touches as well like fresh strawberries.

In summary, this is a simple, clean and friendly place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for St. Mary's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

A really lovely B&B. Big rooms and a comfy bed. Only a 5 min walk to town but peaceful as it's not right in the city. We stayed in the front room and never had a problem with noise. Breakfasts were really good and the staff were very attentive making sure we had enough to eat. We found the service overall was very friendly from the moment we arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-flying-pukeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant. Great location, super service, excellent location. We found this brilliant. Great room, parking and minutes from the river and town centre. Would highly recommend this guest house. Oh and breakfasts were superb.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We only stayed one night but Caroline's welcome set the tone right from the start. We valued the off-road parking spot and access to our room from mid-morning. There weren't many guests staying, but Caroline's friendly chat over her excellent breakfast sent us on our way in appreciative mood.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in this establishment in July, so my husband and his brother could visit the National Railway museum A4 exhibition.
Okay that was several months ago but I'm glad I didn't post then because at that time I reLly didn't appreciate just how good St Mary's is it took an awful experience in a 5 star hotel in Keswick to highlight just what a gem this is.
The welcome when we arrived was second to non Caroline, full of enthusiasm and information. The rooms were clean and bright with nice en suite bathrooms. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful, I particularly liked the fresh fruit platter.
The cooked breakfast was made from good quality ingredients. and served with a smile.
St Mary's was a short riverside walk to both the Museum and the centre of York with loads to spend money on.
Barry and the Girls did everything they could to make our stay a great experience.
I'm sorting out the datess for another trip there in October, hope they have space forr us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANDT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We are a young-ish couple who visited York for a long weekend.

This was a fantastic B&B. Barry, the proprietor, was very friendly every time we spoke to him. The guest house has private parking which is fantastic, Barry even let us leave the car there on our last day after we had checked out until we were ready to leave the city.

The room was clean and stylish. There were tea/coffee-making facilities which were stocked up, tv with freeview, a very comfy double bed, two armchairs, a dressing table and a rail with hangers for our clothes. The bathroom was very clean and had a good shower.

Breakfast was very, very tasty! The hot breakfast was skilfully cooked, and other food available (cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt) was delicious. The lady who took our orders was very smiley, friendly and checked often if we were ok or needed more toast, etc. Barry, the proprietor and chef, made a point of visiting everyone at breakfast and ensuring we were ok. Breakfast was in two sittings: 8.15 and 9.15. The later sitting was booked up both mornings so we needed to go to the earlier; however this was beneficial to us as we got to see more of York instead of sleeping off the previous day's real ale consumption!

We would recommend St Mary's to anyone coming to York. The location is great for walking into the city (along the river and through the museum gardens is the best route), and the guest house itself is wonderful. It was worth the price (which was the top end of my budget for the city break) but having visited I would pay more to stay again.

Room Tip: We had Room 10, the room at the top of the house. It is the only room on the topmost floor so was qu...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Glad to have the Sat Nav to find the accommodation but it was worth finding. There is off road parking (worth its weight in gold in York) and walking distance to the town and museums so once parked you don't have to move the car again until you leave. The room was very clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Would definitely stay again if we go back to York

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.0 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#63 of 194 in York
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#16 of 194 in York
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airden House
Airden House
#52 of 194 in York
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#5 of 194 in York
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Guest House

Address: 16/17 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $138 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Mary's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Mary's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mary`s Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing