We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Mary's Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$233
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson York(York)(Great Value!)
$180
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
$83
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton York(York)
$127
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$124
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
158
55
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
55
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum gardensminute walk along the rivercity centrefresh fruit saladquiet residential streetrailway linefront of the houselovely guesthouseoff road parkinggreat place to staygreat weekendlocation is excellentbreakfast was deliciousthree nightscomfy bedboth morningsground floor
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 222 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everything you could wish for in a B&B with the added bonus of a guest lounge. In a great position with either a lovely river walk or museum gardens walk into the city. Thank you Barry for a wonderful visit and very special thanks to Caroline who was so helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Not been to St Marys for a while but just as good as always had three fab days.
Barry Caroline and the girls gave us a warm welcome, the hotel is always spotless the room comfy and the breakfasts are wonderful we will never slim by going to St Marys. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here if they can help in any way.
We fully recommend this hotel/guest house in a nice location near to city and a pleasure to see the trains pass by
Mary Terry Robinson Blackburn Lancs

Room Tip: because my husband is unable to climb stairs we always have room 2
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashirelass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Only had an overnight stay at St Marys, great location close to the city centre, very welcoming host.
The room was very clean, breakfast was excellent I would recommend this to anyone visiting York.
Barry is an excellent host and nothing is too much trouble. The site only allows for two nights at the weekend but we rang the week before and managed to stay only one night wish we had more time for York. We will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dardoowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our second stay in 6 months at St Mary's and I'm sure it won't be another 6 months before we stay again. This B & B has it all its a true gem. We travelled this time with my mother and whilst she stayed in the lovely single room on the ground floor which has a bed big enough for 2 even though you only pay the single rate myself and my husband stayed in one of the smart large king size rooms on the 1st floor which was so big you could fit another king sized bed in the room and still have plenty of room. Barry, Caroline and Judy go out of their way to make you feel welcome without being intrusive and once again the huge breakfasts kept us going all day, Barry's scrambled eggs are the best I have tasted. St Mary's is only 5 minutes from the centre of York either through the beautiful museum gardens or the river walk which starts at the end of the quiet residential street St Mary's is located on ( no battling with pedestrians or traffic here). St Mary's has it all location, rooms and hosts you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mountainview_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were referred to St Mary's by another B & B host who had no room. We are very happy that happened. What a great place! Barry greeted us warmly when we arrived and opened a private parking spot for us. The guest house is more like a tiny hotel, with the narrow stairs and smaller rooms expected in many in town hotels. It is immaculate and invitingly decorated, our room having been recently renovated. Barry has paid close attention to details, such as a comfortable make up area and plenty of storage in the room. We spent two nights, slept very well and enjoyed the generous breakfast. No need to worry about the commuter train across the road - we didn't hear it at all.

Both Barry and Caroline are great fun to be around, and full of helpful information. The location couldn't be more perfect for exploring York. It is just a very short walk to the path along the river and the Yorkshire Museum Gardens and a few minutes walk to the bustle of town and the Minster.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews