We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Centro Apartments

Centro Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centro Apartments
Ranked #45 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Reviewed January 20, 2009

This is the first time I have stayed in a apartment and what a find.It is beautiful, modern clean and has everything you need. I would highly recommend this apartment. The location is great!! York is a great place for a weekend away, make sure you go to the dungeouns they are great. ( book on line and get half price admission) Wll be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank georgieWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 12 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2008

Stayed here 28th-30th November. Apartments were first class, everything very modern and clean.

However the stairs were an absolute nightmare, we where on the top floor and we had to negotiate 7 flights of stairs albeit 5 or 6 steps at a time but when you are lugging a big suitcase and hand luggage it was awful. We had to take turns and go and help everyone up the stairs with their cases.

We also had issues with the key system, after lugging the suitcases up to the top floor we then had to fight with the door system; it took us a good ½ hour to get into the room. When in the room there were more stairs up to the bedrooms, and some apartments had stairs up to the living rooms as well by this time we were exhausted and ready for bed. The beds and pillows were pure gorgeous could not fault the interiors at all.

The apartments were very reasonably priced and real luxury. There were 13 of us and we stayed in 5 of the 6 apartments and everyone had a great time, very well located and close to everything. I would definitely recommend these apartments but be careful of the stairs. Elderly people or families with pushchairs would find these stairs very difficult. PS, we didn't even hear the bin lorries at all!!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thebride57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

It is nearly impossible to find somewhere in York which will let you book only one night at the weekend - however, by a stroke of luck Centro had someone departing on Saturday morning so were happy to let us stay for one night. It's a one bedroom modern apartment right in the city centre - practically across the road from the Shambles and a couple of minutes from the Minster - a perfect location.

The apartment is modern, tastefully furnished (although the sofa's aren't made for lounging!) and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped and you get tea and coffee provided. There's an M&S foodstore round the corner so you can always go and get supplies from there - or eat out! There were l'Occitane toiletries in the bathroom which smelled yummy! There is Sky tv and a dvd, etc. Parking was arranged for us about a 5 minute walk away which wasn't too much hassle but we did worry about the security of the car park down a little alleyway but it was fine.

Downstairs from the apartment is Harvilles which is owned by the same people as the apartment. It is a beautiful art deco styled restaurant and cocktail bar upstairs! We didn't eat there but the cocktails were fab!

I would recommend this place if you want some privacy and want to stay in a central location. The only slight let down was that they never got back to confirm the keycodes for the building until very late the day before we were due to arrive (after I had to call various people) and that there is no out of hours phone number incase of any problems (there weren't!)

p.s. I'd definitely recommend the Ghost Walk which runs from The Shambles at 7.30 every night!! It was 90 mins of hilarity!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

we stayed at the apartments fri and sat night, we paid for three nights but were only to stay for two due to work commitments.
what a brilliant location to stay, we had a presentation evening to go to on fri night at the railway museum york, so thought we would make a weekend of the stay, we choses the apartments as we wanted something central so were in walking distance of shops restaurants etc., we had booked a parking permit for two nights and this was suposed to have been left in the appartment so we had to go to Harvilles to speak to someone as no one was answering the contact number we had been given. They were more than helpful and gave us a pass for our stay, as they are linked with the company. The apartment was spotless, tea coffee and suger were available as was toiletries plus towels, and hotel style made beds, we tried to get a restaurant booked for a saturday night which was a nightmare, so we had to walk to streets looking for somewhere to eat. we went to Harvilles and these were very helpful and even gave us names and a tlephone book to ring round, or offered to do this for us. We would stay again 100% and book into Harvilles we were really impressed with the attitude. The appartment was two minutes walk from the shambles, and the main shopping area, the only thing I should say is as people have reviewed befor they empty the bins at 5.30 in the morning but the appartment was in the middle of town so we werent too bothered as everything else made up for this little grate.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dogchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Booked through Classic British Hotels - Centro Apartments never got the booking so hadn't heard of us when we turned up - fortunately the customer service was very efficient and they had an apartment available for us.

Spacious apartment (compared to a hotel room) all the facilities required for a short break, very clean and comfortable.

Agree with a previous review, the bins being emptied at 6:30am every morning was a nuisance so don't stay here if you are expecting a lie in or are not an early riser!

The only parking is on the road but you can only park here 6pm-8am at a cost of £2 and if there is space. Otherwise and at all other times expect to have to stick your motor in one of the nearby par & display car parks and fork out additional expenses on parking!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank matchuMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

I agree with the comments in the previous review. However, I think it is worth mentioning that at 6.30am every morning the refuse bins from the surrounding commercial properties are emptied and the process is very noisy. There could be a few extra "everyday" items in the kitche ie containers,drying cloths and a rubber bathmat to prevent slipping in the shower.

Apart from the above, I would recommend this as a place to stay in York

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKSpeedwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The location couldn't be better. 2 minutes walk from the Shambles, 5 minutes from the Minster and 10 minutes from anywhere you like within the ancient city walls. The apartment was modern, clean, fully equipped kitchenette, modern large screen TV with Sky Sports. Very comfortable bed. Much more space than you get with your typical hotel room and a real home from home. In fact for the price you would expect to pay for a 2 stay hotel outside the city centre (£198 for 2 people for 3 nights) you get 4 star accommodation in the very heart of the city. I'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macred67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.8 mi away
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Apartments

Address: No 1 Peckett's Loft | Lady Peckett's Yard, York YO1 9US, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Specialty Lodging in York
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Centro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Apartments Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing