We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family-friendly stay in the country”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Logo!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Logo!
An artist in the next village did this for us.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Our Logo!
An artist in the next village did this for us.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Family-friendly stay in the country”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

This was a great relaxing stay in the country. After several days in the city and on the move this was a wonderful quiet place just outside York. With easy access to the park and ride into York, it is well located. There is a pub a 3 minute walk away that had good food and a big screen tv to watch the World Cup. Paul and Helen were excellent hosts and we had great conversations as well as hospitality. The breakfast was tasty with anything you could ask for, the fresh raspberries were a treat. The beds were comfortable and had lots of extras- each room has their own teapot, wi-fi, and plenty of books. Thanks for a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee C
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I took my family here between Christmas and New Year as a get away and a base to explore York.

The location of this B&B is get for York so long as you have a car. The park and ride is 10 minutes away by car at the outlet mall and is easy to get into York from.

The accommodation consisted of 3 rooms and a shared bathroom. This was great for my family, but if you are sharing with others then an ensuite would be preferable

By far the best thing about this B&B are the hosts. Paul and Helen are wonderful and they make you feel really welcome. Nothing is too much trouble including your breakfast choice. My son enjoyed the bacon and each morning more found its way to his plate. They help you with where to go, places to eat and ensure you are properly looked after.

Had a great stay, many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2018
Thanks Lee We are glad you all had a good time and hopefully you will return to visit us again Regards Paul & Helene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra v
Puth, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super B&B, super atmosphere and super tips for a day out!”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We, a family with 2 children of 12 and 15, were perfectly satisfied with the comfortable beds, the delicious breakfast but most of all with the overwhelming kindness of Paul and Helen. They offered us so much tips for our trips that we do not exagerate when we say that we had 2 personal holiday planners at our side. We felt free and unobserved in their cosy house but knew we could always ask when we had a question. One couldn't ask for more! Thank you very much for your hospitality and the marvelous tips for our trips!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajivkhos...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic couple, fantastic house, was as if we were visiting family. Wonderful location, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Thanks Nick & Tanya You became family--Lets keep in touch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, will definitely be returning.”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

There were three of us staying for one night only but Paul and Helene went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed.
The rooms were excellent and breakfast was personalised, including Paul's homemade vegetarian sausages which went down a treat!
We will definitely be returning later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Comfy, cosy bedrooms
Liked least: stairway was a little on the dark side
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Many thanks, ladies, we will look forward to you all returning soon. We loved having you to stay. Paul & Helene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ady31
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC LOCATION FOR ELVINGTON RACE TRACK”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Friendly and welcoming hosts,Paul the owner met me outside after just driving past.If arriving from the north it is half a mile from the village sign,after this is three white countdown markers followed by a 30 mph sign.......be ready to turn left straight after these,first property.Chose the B&B for the close proximity to Elvington Race Track and the Air Museum at just under 6 miles,a good peaceful location.Also a good base for the Outlet Village & York,easy to get to and use the park & ride.Clean and comfortable accommodation,a TV is provided if requested.Good breakfast and choice at a time that suits.Would definitely stay again,thanks Paul & Helene.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing