We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustique

Rustique
Ranked #37 of 858 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Halifax
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great food and excellent service very friendly staff and pleasant surroundings. Near to the centre on Castlegate see their web site.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,713
    911
    224
    72
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint on return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Visited for a lunch. Fast service and good choices and value from the set menu. Chose Rustique as had had an excellent evening meal there before. This is a friendly and lively restaurant with great food, will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NottsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The set menu is average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good setting, good atmosphere, we ordered from the set menu and it is at a reasonable price. When we got in we were greeted and seated quickly and served attentively. So all good so far, however, the food from the set menu lacked in the taste department. All I have heard from friends and family who have gone here is that it is really good, therefore I was a little dissappointed with the outcome. I should have ordered from the a la carte menu...may be I was expecting too much.
My other annoyance was when I booked the table the person answering the phone is quite rude, lack of decent phone etiquette, set the experience on a bad foot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The place to visit for good food in York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I visited York for a few days last week and booked this restaurant simply by elimination. We wanted not just good but 'masterchef style' food, great atmosphere, good price and somewhere centrally located. Got the lot! This restaurant needs to be on your - must visit - list. We started with the set 2 course menu which was so delicious that we opted to share a dessert. We splashed out of a New Zealand Marlborough wine and still spent under £50. This was a special occasion being our Pearl Wedding Anniversary meal and I could not have wished to have spent it in a nicer restaurant. We will certainly eat there again when in York but in the meantime as their new Halifax restaurant is slightly nearer we will be booking to go there soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great set menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Another lovely meal at Rustique. Never been disapointed with the food or service & good value for the quality of food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustique also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Rustique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing