We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambiente Tapas

Ambiente Tapas
Ranked #47 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Transport yourself to Spain in our 'tabanco' inspired tapas restaurant and sherry bar. Serving authentic Mediterranean Tapas with a Yorkshire twist, stop by for lunch, try our delicious sherries or while away the hours sampling our extensive menu. To book, please click on our website link above!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend had the 'Introduction to Tapas' and it was both tasty and filling. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are lovely, will definitely be returning when visiting York again.

Helpful?
Thank LittleMissHappy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    378
    93
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
259 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a late lunch with six friends on a recommendation from another friend. Fabulous choice of food which was absolutely delicious. Great service and location and very good sangria. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank TripAdviserreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“second visit very good but something missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked to eat here last week after we had visited last year and thought it was excellent. The food was again very good but just short of excellent. My wife's prawns were over cooked and chewy, the Black pudding scotch egg was tasty but the yoke should be runny. These are small details of course, the meal was still very good, service excellent and it is priced fairly. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great introduction for Tapas newbies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This set a high standard for the 2 mebers of my family who had not experienced tapas before, including the one who spent a week in Barcelona without bothering to try it at its home! The introduction to the delights of chilled sherry for the 22 year old, was highly sucessful and the food was deliciously spot on for an early dinner pre house party! Service was very friendly if a little slow considering how few customers they had at 6pm on a Sunday!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickMercer689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great place to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is lovely, the tapas is great and tasty. It's quite small so most likely best to book. The service was good and the cost was OK. I will take friends there for an experience for sure. I don't really like being in small places but this was OK due to their really well thougt out seating set up. It's quirky and special will defo go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiente Tapas also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ambiente Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing