We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambiente Tapas

Ambiente Tapas
Ranked #47 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Transport yourself to Spain in our 'tabanco' inspired tapas restaurant and sherry bar. Serving authentic Mediterranean Tapas with a Yorkshire twist, stop by for lunch, try our delicious sherries or while away the hours sampling our extensive menu. To book, please click on our website link above!
York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat after visiting the cinema. After looking at several places we visited Ambiente. We knew of this place as our friends are regulars but this was our first visit.
My wife was helped by one of the members of staff with her choice of Spanish white wine and we chose olives and bread with olive oil/balsamic vinegar dip for our starter and the vegi paella for two and we were not disappointed. The olives were tasty and the bread full of flavour and the vegi paella was soooooo good.
We will be back and I will recommend without hesitation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apollosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    378
    93
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A really pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Whilst. I wouldn't claim to be a connoisseur of tapas, I've had a few in my time including in Spain and it's islands, but this was the best. It was a fusion of different cuisines rather than 'traditional'. The scallops were lovely, the black pudding balls very good, the belly pork melt in the mouth, the green beans in garlic and sun dried tomatoes a Greta nod in the direction of five a day! The service was fast and spot on, the atmosphere very pleasant though very quiet as we were amongst the first in that evening. Definitely would go again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Munchyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty and different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was a Monday night, and all our usual favourite restaurants were closed. We'd never heard of Ambiente, but now we've tried it, we're definitely going back again!

We had six tapas dishes between two, which was plenty for us. The food came quickly, but tasted freshly cooked. Every dish was highly individual and absolutely delicious. My husband, not usually a seafood fan, was impressed by the queen scallops with chorizo. I loved the scotch eggs made with black pudding, and the very generous feta cheese salad. The bill came to £35.00, which we thought was great value.

We've lived in York for five years. Why did no one tell us about this fabulous place?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the restaurant for our last night in York. It provided excellent food and very friendly service. The manager invests time in you and ensures you are ok for the eve. Ambience is as good as anything in the area and for £80 for two was excellent value

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came here whilst having a day in York. My partner loved the Spanish cider & the sherry. All the food came quite quickly & I can definitely recommend the calamari. It's the best I have ever had in a restaurant in England. The rest of the tapas we had was just as nice. The manager was extremely friendly & I will def go back next time I am in York.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littlekev333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiente Tapas also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ambiente Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing