We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Ambiente Tapas Goodramgate
Ranked #48 of 887 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Style: relaxed, quaint, cosy restaurant with a small, busy bar, all set in an eighteenth-century listed building in the heart of York Size: 46 covers, plus small bar Good for: couples, families, special occasions, casual lunch, formal dinner, access to York Minster, York walls, York Theatre Royal and Dean Court Hotel
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having checked some review for this place we headed out hopeful of some quality tapas and we weren't disappointed! They managed to fit us in without a reservation. The food came out in good time and was fresh and tasty. As well as some Spanish classics..think patatas bravas and paella there were some interesting items on the menu such as Albondigas and lamb patties. We were surprised at how cheap the bill was too...£45 for entrees, 5 tapas and a jug of sangria.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    410
    99
    57
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Saturday night to Ambiente”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A group of us visited Ambiente during a girls trip to York.  We pre-ordered a fixed menu which was £16.95. Before we got there, we were a little worried that we would not have enough food, but we couldn't actually finish everything that was served.  As one of the vegetarians in the group, I was
slightly disappointed with the veggie options, but the meat eaters seemed to really enjoy what they had!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotland1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was a return visit to Ambiente and was just as impressed as the first time. The food is very tasty, especially the black pudding scotch eggs. The sweets are a little on the expensive side but very nice. We had a jug of Sangria made with rose which was beautiful, would return again to this restaurant on my next visit to York.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tracey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had heard and read the reviews so we're keen to give it a try. The restaurant was too warm (not often I say that), to the extent there was condensation sliding down windows and walls. Service wasn't great and after giving us the dessert menu, forgot about us for over half an hour. The manageress noticed eventually and sent someone over but by that time we'd lost interest and left. We'll not be going back as there are so many better restaurants in York.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CloudEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good lunch”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Met a frend here for lunch recently - the food was delicious and a very welcoming place. Reasonably priced too. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shiraz1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambiente Tapas Goodramgate also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ambiente Tapas Goodramgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing