We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillcrest Guest House
Ranked #142 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed overnight in May, the place wasn't busy but we were given a very small, cold room, nowhere to put our suitcases (we were on route to holiday abroad) the host was very pleasant on arrival but going down for breakfast 30 mins before time stated for breakfast to finish, she was quite rude, got the feeling she didn't want to cook for us hence the Full English was very basic. Photos are nothing like the place, the outside of house is very grim and garden very overgrown, where are the hanging baskets!! hallway very dark and breakfast room very dated. This is very overpriced, plenty more in York to consider. Wouldn't stay again, certainly didn't put us in a feel good mood to start our lovely holiday abroad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris187438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in May. ensuite was good and very clean. The host was lovely and gave us extra tea in the room as we had 2 pots of tea with our breakfast.
Breakfast was good very morning and she was always there with a smile.
Would stay again, only 10-15mins walk from town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here one night over Easter weekend, the room was simple and small but all we needed. It was easy to find street parking nearby and a pleasant walk into town along the river. Great breakfast and helpful host.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed on a cold weekend in March, but the welcome was definitely warm. A short walk to the centre, the house is clean, comfortable, and friendly. I would stay at Hillcrest again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BE665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed before Christmas. Friendly hosts and a good breakfast but the property was dull and dingy and the photos online were NOTHING like the room we had. It was VERY small and a bit depressing. Not what you want on a weekend away, even if you don't spend much time there. The hallways were also dark and dingy. I couldn't even say it was clean because the coaster beside my bed was dirty- obviously overlooked when the room was cleaned, which shows standards. Didn't have a feel good factor and I think it was a rip off for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

just back from a weekend break with my sister and best friend we went to York for the Xmas fair at York race course and we stayed at the Hillcrest Guest House .Hosts were friendly and made the three of us very welcome .We were very . happy with our room and the breakfast .Would stay here again .A big thank you .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We could not fault the friendliness and hospitality of the owners but were a little disappointed by the size of the room and bathroom bearing the price in mind. The B&B is a good fifteen minute walk into the centre of town (and we aren't slow walkers!) and the price did not seem to reflect this. Breakfast was good and as I say the owners were very friendly but we would have liked the room and bathroom to have been a little bigger. The room was however very clean and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossiAndShellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
6.0 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#13 of 56 in York
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Guest House

Address: 110 Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillcrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Guest House Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing