We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and unhelpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #74 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rude and unhelpful”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The room was not as advertised on the website. It was on the ground floor and dusty and the bathroom was not quite clean enough. The methos of ordering breakfast is a bit strange, you have to pre-order it in advance with a pen and menu. We mistakingly forgot to put full english on the menu. When we enquired if we could get one cooked in the morning we were flatly refused as it was after 9am and breakfast was only served STRICTLY between 8.15 and 9. We have never, ever been treated as badly as we were by this B&B. Definitely would not go back and would not recommend it. Do not be fooled by the positive reviews.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numberthirtyfouryork, Owner at Number 34 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
To be awarded a rating of one star which equals terrible is totally unjustified and we feel this is a vindictive attempt to damage our business, rather than an objective review. We would like to make the following comments in the interest of establishing the facts.


Your main source of dissatisfaction seems to be the fact that you did not have a full English breakfast on your last morning with us, and have then gone on to make complaints about our standards of cleanliness and our hospitality.


You stayed two nights with us. On the first night, you selected the full English breakfast and when we asked you if everything was OK you said you had enjoyed your breakfast, and no mention was made at that point, or on check out, of any dissatisfaction. On the second morning, you had selected a continental breakfast which was served to you when you came down at 8.45am. At 9.20am you came into the kitchen and asked where your full English breakfast was. As check out is at 10am there was no way we could have served you a full English in that time, but we did offer you cooked alternative ie scrambled or fried eggs, which you declined. If you had mentioned to our waitress when she checked everything was OK during breakfast, we would have been able to prepare you a full breakfast even at that late stage. As it is, you simply asked her for more toast at around 9.15am. To be blamed and punished in this way for something which was clearly your error is unacceptable to us.

The heading of your review is quite frankly an insult. At no point was anybody rude to you, and you fail to mention the fact that we accommodated your late arrival of 10pm and welcomed you as we do with all our guests. We provided you with taxi numbers as requested and in no way can we accept that we were unhelpful. All our rooms are cleaned and dusted on a daily basis, and our other reviews show clearly the high standards of cleanliness that guests can confidently expect.

We are confident that other people reading your review will take it in context and be reassured by the significant number of positive reviews we have earned on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    56
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
105
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my husband had a fabulous stay at no.34. The location couldn't be better, 5 minute walk from the city centre, the room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious. Couldn't have asked for more for a romantic weekend break.
The owner was also really friendly and helpful, telling us where to go and recommending pubs and restaurants. We had a great meal in a place called cafe no.8 just up the road towards town.
We would definately come back!

Yvette and Jamie from Sheffield.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yve79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here last week and had an excellent stay, the location was great, the welcome was warm and friendly, the rooms were lovely- very clean and we enjoyed the breakfast - would definately recommend !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our greeting at the B&B was very unfriendly ( the owners mother ) I had rang & e-mailed to say we would be arriving about 11 oclock ( 11.30 prefered arrival time ) all we wanted was the parking permit we didnt want to go to the room - Our greeting was 'Your early you will have to go & come back ' ( not easy in the center of York ) any way we were given the permit & the key for our room ( which we didnt go to till much later ) . The room was dusty , noisey from the outside ( I actually thought one of the windows were open ) & the blinds do not stop any of the orange light from the lamp post lighting up the room ( there are no little extras in the room ) . Breakfast is basic you get a Menu but there is no choice of poached egg , scrambled egg .
We were the only people staying in the B&B that night so it wasnt as if all the rooms had to be ready before 11.30 on the day we arrived .
I would NEVER stop here again - I knew this after our rude greeting .
I think the location is the best thing about this B&B maybe the owners know this and dont try to please PAYING guests .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numberthirtyfouryork, Owner at Number 34 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We are sorry to read that you were less than satisfied with your stay..
We feel that the rest of our reviews testify to our friendliness and standard of accommodation and service.
I am sorry that you felt we were unfriendly to you on check-in. We are quite surprised by this as we welcomed you before our early check-in time even began. We made sure you had a valid permit and issued you with your keys. How we came accross to be unfriendly baffles us both!
We do take on board your comments about the light and are having some curtains made as well as keeping the blinds. It is part of our policy to ask guests on check-out if everything is OK for them, and at no point did you mention any concerns which is a shame. We do feel you have gone overboard rather than post an honest opinion of Number34,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect location for siteseeing in York. An easy walk to old city center. Ample parking near the front door with a parking voucher from the owner. The room was small, but that is not unusual in the UK. Everything we needed and very comfortable. Cleanliness is important to us and No. 34 did not disappoint. Owners live next door and we felt well looked after. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batya410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great b&b, about ten mins walk to the city walls, nice breakfasts, reasonable prices , we would not stay again as we always try to go somewhere different every time we go to York but this has been the best b&b so far out of the 5 or so we have stayed at over the past ten years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at Number 34 for two nights. Great Welcome and fantastic breakfast. Room was very spacious but the only point I would make is the en-suite could do with updating otherwise every was perfect.Very close to the centre of York.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
0.1 mi away
Bootham City Centre Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#14 of 192 in York
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#64 of 192 in York
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#13 of 192 in York
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 34 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 34 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Number 34 Bed & Breakfast
Address: 34 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 34 Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 34 is a beautiful Victorian double-fronted house built in 1886, ideally situated in a quiet residential street, but only 5-10 minutes walk from York Minster and York city centre. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. Number 34 is a friendly, family run Bed & Breakfast & is the perfect choice for discovering the beautiful city of York. We are also situated within easy access to the outer ring road and the beautiful Yorkshire countryside and coastal resorts. Guests are provided with a front door key and are welcome to come and go as desired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Number 34 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 34 Hotel York
Number 34 Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing