We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Chilli

Red Chilli
Ranked #214 of 850 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Service was indifferent and off hand. Food was not introduced and plonked on table. Ordered a banquet and some food was cold and some looked horrid. Some tasted horrid too. Worst Chinese had for many many many years. Good hygiene rating poor food/service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    154
    60
    39
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
irvine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not bother!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i visited this restaurant on a thursday night. The decoration is lovely although do not be fooled.

Firstly the waiting staff cant understand you,my husband and i had to order our meal 4 times before the waiter got it correct.

We both had chicken satay to start totally tastless.

I then had painters chicken yes thats what its called. After a few bites of tough fatty pork i gave up the rice was greasy.

My husband had spicey shreaded chicken which was ok nothing special.

The waiting staff all stand around watching you eat very off putting and its also very expensive.

Go somewhere else and spend your hard earned cash!!!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvineElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ate here April 17th. An eclectic menu from traditional (to the british) food but also a wide range of authentic Chinese food which may not be to everyones taste. Decor really nice ,posh even. staff efficient and willing to give advice on what to eat, we had a variety of dimsum all very nice.
I would recommend in particular adventurous diners to try some of the "off piste" menu

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been in the Red Chilli so many times we think we tried everything on the menu - love it. Authentic Chinese food, good service and modern interior.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank giddyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Like eating in a zoo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had dinner here recently and were sat next to a young family with the most misbehaving children you could imagine. Staff were embarrassed and tried to ask them to behave but the mother's were having none of it and let this mobile zoo continue to ruin the experience of other diners. Almost certain the staff knew the family, I presume they were related to the owners/chefs or both.

The food was so-so. Starters were okay and just usual english-chinese standard. One of the main courses was very tasty and well seasoned, but one dish (with green peppercorns and chilli) was easily one of the most repulsive dishes I have ever had the misfortune to experience. I'm sure it was authentic but whilst I don't want to be disrespective of other cultures, it was awful! The waiter did warn me though, next time I'll listen though I doubt I'll be revisiting this place...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank skiingarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Chilli also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Red Chilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing