We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tasca - CLOSED

La Tasca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We called in here on a warm summer early Friday evening on a weekend in York. The place was not very busy and we were able to easily get a table on the roof terrace. The setting and seating were pretty basic with no view to speak of however it was much better than sitting inside on such a warm day. Service was prompt and friendly. The Tapas menu was pretty varied and when the food came it was very good and ample proportions. I would not particularly recommend this place for a special night out but on the other hand can have no real complaints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PATRICKDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    244
    87
    35
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Poor service, not enough staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for a hen do, a table of 16, we sat upstairs.
Booked in months before, set buffet menu and glass of sangria on arrival. We sat down at 8, the glass of sangria arrived at 9pm, after we had asked the staff a few times what the hold up was. We were told they were short staffed and had run out of glasses! Some of the girls had wine, and were offered what only could be described as thimbles to drink it out of, until any wine glasses were free.
We felt like we were treading on egg shells when asking the staff for anything.
We finished our mains at 10.30, 2.5 hours after arrival, we cancelled the Churros (dessert) as it was too late.
One of our party spoke to a staff member about our conerns regarding the above mentioned and we got a discount on our mains 20% I think, cant remember exactly, and we each got a free cocktrail, which was a nice gesture. They apologised for their staff shortage and that reflected their service on the night.
I've written alot of reviews on Trip Advisor over the years, nearly always giving praise where it is due. I'm not a moaning reviewer of restaurants at all, but I can safely say I will probably never eat again at La Tasca.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avenue124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A nice night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very busy Saturday night but they managed to squeeze us in - very accommodating, warned about a long wait but in reality it was only 15 mins - large party in by us having a great time but it all fitted in with the ambiance. Food came quickly - most difficult thing was choosing what goodies you want - paella seafood was great as was the chorizo and black pudding combination. Service was great as was the food - will certainly be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great night here with a selection of several tapas and a seafood paella between the two of us. All of the small dishes were tasty and pleasant but we realised slightly too late that most of the "goodies" in the paella had ended up on one side of the plate, leaving one diner very spoiled and the other rather frustrated. The shared dessert tasting plate was divine - the chocolate dipping sauce clearly had a very high proportion of dark chocolate in it and the churros in particular were great. We had a jug of sangria between us and found it much nicer than many others we've had. Staff were lovely and service was prompt. Beware that the bill can escalate pretty quickly as the servings are generally quite small for the price. That said, it was well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littlefmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Still no food after two hour wait!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013


13 if us went for a hen party, we had a reservation and had even pre-ordered the set menu on 03.08.2013.
We were seated on the balcony, which was pleasant but surrounded by families with young children and couples trying to have a romantic meal, not great when you are a large hen party.

After an hour of waiting for food we spoke to staff who would chase it up, we never saw them again!

After an hour and 15 minutes we found another staff member who assured us that it was on its way.

After an hour and 40 minute wait for our food we asked to see the manager, he assured us it was on its way.

After 2 hours of waiting for food we got up and left!! We had some chips from a burger van round the corner and tried to salvage the rest of the evening as we had missed some of our later plans due to the wait!

Please also be aware that there are 2 DIFFERENT MENUS IN LA TASCA WITH 2 DIFFERENT PRICES. We ordered some cocktails, based on one menu and overcharged as it was priced higher on a different menu circulating in the restaurant. The staff was very rude about this, coming to our table with a menu to prove the price, very loudly and embarrassingly, just then to see our menu, with a lower price, mumble and go off.

Staff rude, waiting times ridiculous, no food actually arrived in 2 hours, poorly planned table arrangements and over charging!

I won't be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saffery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Bishopthorpe, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing