We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to be a lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bettys Stonegate

Bettys Stonegate
Ranked #2 of 24 Dessert in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
285 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Never fails to be a lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Before I start - this is all going to be good - except the 45 minute wait to get a table. But, I was Saturday at 2.30 so what do you expect.

Perfect service, delicious food - just sandwiches for us and a Yorkshire Fat Rascal, huge pot of coffee, lovely table in the window and great views. A must in York for us and we prefer it to the main Betty's which is too big and can be a bit impersonal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    250
    83
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The York guidebook recommends afternoon tea at Bettys. We had planned on giving it a go but the queue was so long that we couldn't be bothered so we went back the next day for a brunch. I am so glad we did - it was certainly worth the short queue (around 30 minutes) for a table. Once in we were not rushed at all. The quality of the food was very good although a bit on the pricey side.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finchmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely place for tea and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited here on a cold Thursday afternoon.
There was a short wait for a table but this is pretty normal for Bettys and you know that it'll be worth it when you get in.
The cafe has a lovely atmosphere and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I had the china rose petal tea and the Bettys chocolate bomb. It was an amazing chocolate treat! My friend had Bettys blend tea and some sort of nutty meringue cake with icecream which seemed to go down well.
Will come back, it was lovely!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Iconic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Treated myself to afternoon tea and wasn't disappointed. Very busy but didn't wait long to be seated and hosted by very efficient and helpful staff. Lovely sandwiches and the selection of cakes leaves no one disappointed. Took away a fat rascal from the shop, too. Incredible !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A decadent treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is the quintessential British tea experience and well worth the queue and wait on the rickety stairs. Yes, it's expensive but the quality is excellent and the service helpful and friendly. Not an everyday treat but lovely to help celebrate my birthday!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annloubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bettys Stonegate also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Stonegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing