We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total delight”

Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Stonegate
Ranked #2 of 28 Dessert in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Geraldton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A total delight”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this shop in need of a coffee and what a delightful surprise. The Easter eggs in the window were the first attraction. We tasted some Simnel cake and then headed upstairs to the restaurant . I have never had such incredible customer service in my life " nearly for a coffee". What a pleasure. I had a Latte Latino- a chocolate drink with cinnamon. Fantastic and accompanied for a tea cake. The staff could not be more helpful or polite. I noticed there is also a cooking school which I would love to to attend if ever the opportunity arose in the future. Never past by a Betty's Tearooms!!

Helpful?
Thank ElizabethGeraldton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    253
    85
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

visited bettys tea room with friends last week.staff and service were excellent,welcoming us warmly. menu was varied.food served was tasty and well presented.good value for money and a.very worthwhile experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little tea room”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After seeing the long queues at Betty's team room round the corner we were pleased to stumble across Betty's in Stonegate and we managed to get a table straight away. Very cute tea room with roaring fires which was nice to warm up on a cold day. We sat near a window so had the perfect position for people watching on the busy street below. We had a lovely afternoon tea with a fat rascal which was delicious. We're glad we got to experience Betty's tea room without having to queue!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLoo1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find above a tiny shop, you'd never know it was so big inside!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went to this tea room (although its more like a restaurant really) for breakfast a couple of weeks ago, the staff are very informative, great selection of food and drinks.
We both chose the breakfast rosti which was a giant plate size hash brown with Gruyere cheese pretty much topped with a full english, it was amazing!
Not really much more I can say about it other than I can't wait to go again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My mum and I went for lunch in January, We had there fish and chips with puree peas. It was outstanding.
We did not have room to eat one of there beautiful cakes, so on the way out we got some to take home.
This just a fantastic place and the service is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pollyBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Stonegate also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms - Stonegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing