We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and well equipped.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MandyM141...
New Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable and well equipped.”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It was our first visit to Whitby and when we arrived at Family Tides, we were very pleased with the apartment, it was lovely and clean, very modern, well equipped with everything needed for our stay. A lovely welcome waiting for us in the fridge, which was very thoughtful of the owners. Location of apartment is good with a short walk to the harbour. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants to choose from, but one we visited twice during our three night stay was the 'Fishermans Wife, great fish and chips!
A great short break away, in a lovely comfortable apartment, would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Great review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila892...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is 2nd time we have stayed is this lovely apartment. So clean and up to date. Got everything you need and more! Lovely welcome treats as well. Great communications with owner. Own parking space is a bonus!! Across road from the beach,great location. Couldn't ask for more!! Other than wish weather had been better.Will be returning again. Many Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2017
Cant do anything about the weather Shiela, wish we could.
But will always keep the standards high so glad you had another great time
Best regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelledNo...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment for Whitby”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We decided to book a last minute deal bank holiday week so didn't expect to get much. Talk about falling on our feet when we were able to book this apartment. It is a perfect location for a stroll to west cliff beach and kids entertainment, plus a comfortable walk into the centre. Shops, cafe, pub etc nearby as well. On site parking included (for Whitby this is a big plus), the apartment is immaculate, clean, fresh, contemporary and finished to a high level. Everything you need is there. Now onto the owners ... I can honestly say they are TOP CLASS. Helpful and contactable and clearly care about people staying. Stupidly and embarrassingly myself and my wife locked ourselves out, within half an hour we had a replacement. It is set in an older building which is clean, grand and full of history. Oh and of course little (or big when you think about it) touches like a bottle of bubbly, milk, chocolate on arrival and on and on I could go. One complaint though .... my daughter now wants a TV and triple bunk beds in her room after staying (she is 4!) !!!! Outstanding place and we will book again (if the owner will have us after the key incident!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you so much for this cracking review you are correct we really do care that visitors enjoy their stay and a good stay away starts with good accommodation, you have helped us improve family tides by locking yourself out we now leave a key in the apartment so that the key in the security box can be returned to it so that there is always a second key, you will be most welcome if you return in the future.
Regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shauncare...
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday apartment”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family tides apartment in the metropole is absolutely fantastic .the whole place is immaculate great kitchen and the shower is brilliant the welcome pack was a really nice touch would recomend it to anyone and the next time we come to whitby we will try to book this apartment again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thanks for the fantastic review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenH1483
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, home from home.”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed for 3 days 19th till 22nd June (wish we had booked longer) absolutely fantastic apartment, great location, easy stroll into town, great pub(the Met bar) downstairs which sells top beer, owners were brilliant and a great place to watch the sun go down. Apartment is like brand new, all the white goods are fantastic as if they have just been installed, the whole place looked like it had just been decorated, bedding was crisp and new, shower was awesome, we made a three course meal one night and everything we needed was there. Tea, coffee, milk, chocs and Prosecco were a great touch on arrival. Comms with David (owner) were fantastic, everything replied to within 5 mins, you can't get better. We will definitely return for more. Many thanks for a great stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
Thank you Ken, Liz and I would love to welcome you back again soon.
Regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnedwar...
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS APARTMENT”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow !!! What a gorgeous apartment so bright and clean furnished to a very high standard it has everything you need very comfortable beds brilliant shower the owner has thought of everything so well equipped very nice welcome pack (the Prosecco went down a treat ) brilliant cliff top location very easy to access ,the car park was a great bonus we will definitely be back Dave &Liz thank you for a lovely stay .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
Reviews like this make all the effort we put in so worth while,
We would love to welcome you back.
Regards
David and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia m
1 review
“Lovely bright,clean and comfortable holiday apartment.”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Family Tides Apartment. It's in a fabulous location on the promenade just a few feet from a beautiful beach.The apartment is freshly decorated, and very bright and clean.
We found it very comfortable with all we the conveniences we needed... from the welcome bottle of Prosecco to the fabulous shower and comfortable beds.We had a small problem with a bleeping alarm which the owner, David, quickly resolved for us when we phoned him. It was good to have car parking off the road also. I would happily recommend this accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Family Tides thanks for this lovely review and your patience while the alarm was fixed.
Regards
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing