We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our stay in shilling cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shilling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gargil63
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay in shilling cottage”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a 3 night stay found the cottage clean and tidy everything you need if you wish to cater for yourself

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Hello Garry,
Thank you for your lovely review and taking time out to do so.
Kindest regards
Nicola & Wil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo R
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a brilliant time in Shilling cottage. Very comfortable, great location and everything you could possibly need. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dining seating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizzyKitt...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Shilling Cottage at very short notice and were very happy with our choice - it is situated in a lovely quiet area down one of the yards, and we could not fault the location. We really liked the quaint old feel of the cottage, with the spiral staircase and wooden floors. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well throughout our stay! Everything was very clean and we had everything we needed for our stay. We would definitely stay at Shilling Cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely old cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani_Gree...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shilling Cottage is priceless”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a lovely weekend in Whitby. I would highly recommend Shilling Cottage - it was clean, it's in a brilliant location and it's just so darn cute!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Hello,
Thank you so much for your lovely words about Shilling Cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you again. Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip109
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday weekend away”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The property was clean and well situated in the centre of whitby. Although the property was cold when we arrived, it soon warmed up when central heating was put on. The cottage was cosy and bedrooms were of a good standard. It has a lovely spiral staircase to the 1st and 2nd floor which was in keeping with this very traditional cottage

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shabbyche...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and clean basic service”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Hi,

the back alleys of Whitby are a wonder in themselves and we loved the well tended gardens and artwork of the laneway cottages; it reminded Jean of the hutong (old streets) of her childhood in China.

The cottage was clean and basic, and is a lovely old building. We regretted the lack of towels and also the lack of wifi, and would recommend these as additions to bring the cottage up to current acceptable standards. The owners advertise the bedlinen as if its an unexpected bonus instead of a normal part f BnB provision. I'd suggest they use some of the ample space in the cottage to install a washing machine too, as these make self-catering holidays convenient. The bed mattress also needs replacing (you can feel the springs).

Finally, the check in time of 3pm is a little late, and could be better moved to 1pm. We caught public transport and shlepped around the harbour with a suitcase for several hours on arrival (suitcase, wheels, cobble stones, crowds). Not a good mix.

Whitby has many lovely rental cottages for a good stay, and the town and surrounds are great for exploring, eating and relaxing. With a little more care Shilling Cottage could be one of the nice places to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: poor matress no wifi late checkin
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your holiday at Shilling Cottage. We are pleased to tell you, we are looking into installing wifi in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo S
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, central cottage with very friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage had all the facilities we needed, was a tucked away place but very central to the town. The owner was extremely helpful with information/directions, etc. and there were no problems at all. Shame there was no WiFi but we coped fine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing