We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend break at Shilling Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shilling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HMWilks
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend break at Shilling Cottage”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a last minute long weekend break, from running our own B&B, in this lovely characterful cottage in the historic older part of Whitby.

Very quiet, as off set from the bustle of Church Street, up a secret alleyway!

We have stayed in 5 similar cottages in Whitby before and Shilling was as nice as any of them. Our 5 year old nephew visisted us for one night and loved everything about Whitby and wanted to stay at the cottage longer, the twin bedded room on the middle floor being ideal for him and his Dad. He left his bucket and spade behind for the next small visitors. A bonus is the little garden area.

The cottage is well equipped and compact, and ideally located for the beach, pier and places to eat and drink, during the day and, better still, in the evening when the pubs and restaurants around Church Street provide a nice sedate atmosphere. A couple of our favourites are The Humble Pie & Mash, The Duke of York and, across the brigde, The Moon & Sixpence.

We would definately reccommend Shilling Cottage to our family and friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy c
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A small, quiet, Homely cottage in the heart of Whitby.”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spoke to Nicola who owns the cottage and emailed her a couple of times. She was very nice and helpful. On arriving at the cottage our first impression was that it's kept as a comfortable Family retreat for Nicola too. You can tell by some of the ornaments and quality of things like cutlery and cups etc..
Shilling Cottage is a nice retreat after a full day exploring East Yorkshire and if you get the weather Whitby is a good place to spend the day browsing shops, eating sea food and walking off those fish and chips.
We Foster young Children and took a young man with us (age 10) who's been living with us for three months. He's never had a holiday before. The whole experience was sensory overload for him but he loved it (as did our Grandson age 9).
Shilling Cottage is the first cottage we've rented as we've always enjoyed camping but the weather in recent years persuaded us to re-think the children's holidays and short breaks. So last year we rented a caravan and regretted it deeply. This year however we discovered Shilling Cottage and we're glad we did. It's certainly nothing like those awful dilapidated static caravans.
The cottage is old and at the very heart of Whitby (set back so it's quiet). The building is obviously from days gone bye so don't expect en-suite bathrooms and a grand staircase. It's compact so you won't get lonely unless you go by yourself. But what Shilling Cottage lacks in volume it gains in comfort and homeliness. Up the narrow spiral stairs you'll find the bedrooms which are bright and clean. On those chilly seaside nights the beds are comfortable and warm and the small perfectly formed bathroom is modern and clean too.
P.S Watch those pesky sea-gulls. One took my Grandson's ice-cream and scratched his hand. Best not feed them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked the whole package
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to write about your holiday at Shilling Cottage. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the children enjoyed it too. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josie049
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous little cottage in an enviable position , close to everything you need, would recommend this lovely place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frillylil...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Shilling Cottage for 3 days over New Year and to be honest, because of the price we paid for that time of year, I was a little worried at what we would be staying in!
I needn't have been!
From the moment we arrived we fell in love. A gorgeous cottage in the most perfect location, and such an excellent price, Shilling Cottage offers everything. It was also really clean, comfy beds and the bottle of prosecco waiting for us was a really nice surprise too!
The owners were so lovely & friendly... I couldn't recommend this properly enough. We will definitely be coming back. PERFECT!
Thank you for making it the best New Year's Eve ever!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from Shilling Cottage very quaint and wonderful. Central for church street but very peaceful away from the hustle and bustle.Parked with no problem very unusaul for whitby. Would come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefish1...
Mezieres-sur-Issoire, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, compact accommodation in a superbly located Fisherman's cottage.”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A great place to stay in the heart of old Whitby and very convenient for the Abbey, harbour and all amenities. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage and found it a very comfortable place to stay. It is well equipped and well organised. The fact that it is away from busy roads ensured that our stay was very peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again at Shilling Cottage. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenaluna
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely quaint cottage in the heart of whitby”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked shilling cottage for a four night stay for myself, my husband and my parents.
Cottage was lovely and v well equipped, although also up some quite steep steps but this is mentioned on the details so didn't come as a surprise. The living area a bit small but v cozy, and the we had the bonus of a lovely little garden area, would book again for another visit..... tip though for anyone visiting Whitby for 1st time, chip shops close early even at the weekends, we checked in and went for a drink with a plan to get fish and chips on the way home but everything was closed by 9.30, we did find a lovely Turkish restaurant (four seasons) where the service and food were excellent...just not we had expected to be eating on our 1st night in a town famous for fish and chips!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central location
Liked least: small living area and only 3 wine glasses!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing