We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be better”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Langdale

Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Bedroom Ensuite Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Dining area
Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Dining Area
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Kitchen area
TV & Satellite
Lounge Area
Bed
Kitchen Area
Hospitality Tray
View from The Langdale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JReygan
Salford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at 5 The Langdale, 8 Langdale Terrace for Whitby Folk week. It was an excellent choice, being just round the corner from the school where we could park safely in a locked car park during our stay, and just along from Crescent Gardens and the Spa Pavilion. The property is opposite St John's Road, and down there and to the right is Silver Street leading to Flowergate, so everything was easy to reach on foot. We only moved the car once during our stay, to go to an evening concert at the Rugby club. We did our shopping at the Co-op, which has great opening hours, and the large variety of small local shops. The apartment is well equipped with microwave, kettle, toaster, cooker with hob, large tv, free wifi, an en-suite shower room - and great views. We were only lacking a bread knife and pan lids. The apartment is quite small, like a hotel room with a kitchen, but (apart from the minor points above) we had everything we needed for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It could have felt small, but we were out most of the time
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidJ501...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here, Ray was a fantastic host, lovely room and wonderful cake! We will definitely be returning soon. Thank you Ray for making us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of kitchen equipment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment,great location”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

we stayed in a lovely spacious apartment at the Langdale which had a great view of the Abbey and was a five to ten minute walk into the town. The apartment had all the facilities we need for our week long stay. Ray is a very helpful and accommodating guy, giving us general advice on the best places to visit and eat out and making our stay a very pleasant one.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D
Middlewich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The langdale”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a lovley apartment and a really nice guy say was.everything we needed,fresh,light and spotlessly clean.central for everything.highly recommended and would definatly go again..the cake was lovley day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubmartie
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“I only need one word- Ideal!”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ray is a lovely bloke. The apartments are really cosy and comfortable, it feels like being at home. Everything is very clean and modern. We came down with another couple who stayed in another of Ray's apartments (St Hilda's) which is in the same building, which is also a beautiful little place. All in all I couldn't recommend them more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds.
Liked least: I had a little trouble with the key to the front door, but that was probably my fault.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockler
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best self catering in Whitby”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this place is perfect you just can't fault it,it's a home from home with so many special little extra touch's,and Ray the owner well he's a real gentleman and nothing's too much trouble for him,he really makes you feel welcome,the best self catering accommodation in Whitby for sure

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nick c
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“AMAZING AS USUAL.”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our 3rd time staying in Rays lovely studios. Once in St Hildas & twice in the langdale. We had a 3 day midweek break for our anniversary & it was amazing. Everything you need is in the studios. Free parking cards for your stay. Lovely chats with Ray. Very reasonable priced.Good luck with your recently converted new studio. We will surely return & try the Langdale 2 next time on Rays reccomendation. Thanks again Ray. Nick & Denise ( Ilkeston).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing