We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection travelling distance to many things”
other travelers have booked this property
The end house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The end house
View from the balcony Heronwood, Larpool, Whitby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The end house
View from the balcony
Heronwood, Larpool, Whitby
Outside of the property
View of the house from the car parking area
Fully fitted kitchen diner c/w dishwasher, washer/dryer, gas cooker, microwave, fridge & freezer
Kitchen
Dining table with 6 chairs with patio doors leading on to a small patio area
Hallway leading to the stairs and downstairs toilet from the kitchen
Lounge on the middle floor with a balcony overlooking the River Esk
Lounge
River view from the lounge
River view from the Balcony
NYM steam train passing the house on the opposite side of the river
Shower Room on the middle floor with toilet and wash basin
Middle floor bedroom with bunkbeds
Main bathroom on top floor with bath, shower, toilet & wash basin
Double bedroom on the top floor
Second double bedroom on the top floor which overlooks the river
River view from the balcony
View from the dining area
View of the house from the Viaduct
View from the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan B
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection travelling distance to many things”
Reviewed July 24, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Just returned from holiday at Heron Wood we could not have asked for a more lovely place. The house was perfect looking over the river, watching the wildlife. The river changed all the time. There was a 20 minute walk into Whitby on the cinder track over the viaduct but it was a really pleasant walk. Plenty of places to travel to in a short distance by car, Grosmont was such a pretty place and the train model shop was greatly priced for used models also the owner was very helpfull. The narrow gauge railway at ruswarp was a big hit with my grandson as were the rowing boats. The weather was absolutely perfect. . I would thoroughly recommend Heron Wood whatever the weather , the house was comfortable and well equipped. My 6 year old grandson was so upset to leave as were we all

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2018
Thank you so much for your review. Very please that you enjoyed your stay.

It would be lovely to welcome you back in the future should you wish to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnAir6661...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Heron Wood”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Spent Christmas 2016 here with the family. Fantastic spot and really good that it was on 3 floors as the boys could play in an other room.

There is ample space to entertain what with the kitchen and dining room on the ground floor and the lounge on the 1st floor (both with patio doors) with 1 bedroom and shower room. 2nd floor consisted of 2 bedrooms and a family bathroom. In all it works really well.

It was lovely to be able to watch the seals playing from the dining and lounge windows and all the other wildlife. This kept the boys occupied what with their bird book and binoculars in hand.

On thing to see are the night stars through the velux window in the top floor bathroom. The sight was sublime with the back drop of the viaduct.

We would highly recommend this spacious property, what with it position and proximity to whitby. Half an Hour walk along the traffic free viaduct.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmagiraf...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday let”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here from 15th Nov for 5 nights. It was our first holiday with our new baby, my brother and the grandparents. The house was wonderful, lovely and warm with good sized rooms and plenty of bathrooms. We loved the blackout blinds and we managed to catch up on some sleep. The house was in a good location and there was plenty to do in Whitby and the surrounding towns / villages. We would recommend this holiday let and we hope to book it again soon. It was a perfect first family holiday for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was cosy and we really relaxed during our stay.
Liked least: The steep hill.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billygrim...
grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well i have stayed in some nice places but this beats the lot, what a lovely place to stay . we all enjoyed it from the minute we got there .

thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johndavid...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect setting. We loved this place and its location. Spotless”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Took my parents for their anniversary. You could not wish to be in a better location. We were so lucky with the weather for September. Very close to Whitby, only a short drive to the East Cliff if you take a left out of the site. Heron Wood is right on the banks of the River Esk with the viaduct as a magnificent backdrop.
Inside the property there is everything you could want for a week or shorter break. I only wish I had booked the place for longer. I will definitely come back here. The property sleeps 6, with 2 double bedrooms on the upper floor and a four piece bathroom. There is a bunk bedroom and a shower room on the middle floor along with a lounge and balcony. On the groun floor is a large kitchen and dining room and a wc. This property would suit any party of 6. It gives you the chance to be together or have a bit of breathing space. Perfect. Also Whitby fantastic. Go .

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, ducks, steam train, everything.
Liked least: You need to make sure where you are going. Also property has keypad entry. Make sure of this
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a long weekend here, it simply wasn't long enough. The setting was just beautiful and watching the steam trains from the little balcony was great. Accommodation was well presented, spacious and clean with everything we needed. The velux window in the top bedroom was a real treat! We hope to come and stay again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having tyo leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing