We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
DIne in style
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
DIne in style
A modern kitchen complete with dishwasher and microwave The comfortable master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
DIne in style
A modern kitchen complete with dishwasher and microwave
The comfortable master bedroom
Top floor twin bedroom
Single bedroom
A cosy corner
View from the top bedroom
The Abbey seen from the top bedroom
Comfortable living room
Living room with satellite TV, DVD player and Wifi
Outside with parking space
Wonderful Whitby!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Eunic...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Chandlers View is a lovely cottage. Parking for one vehicle to front of property. Three good sized bedrooms. Ample wardrobe space. Decorated tastefully throughout. Very cosy and comfortable. A short walk down the hill brings you into Whitby. We didn't use the car whilst we were there. A much nicer dog friendly property than some that we have stayed in. Whitby is a lovely dog friendly place. Would love to return soon. Would definitely recommend this property.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownies5...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

from start to finish the trip was brill!! The instructions were easy to follow and the house had everything you need. Its a 5 minute walk to the centre and we could not fault it at all .
Probably a bit picky but the sofas was very worn and uncomfortably and left bits on your clothes from the warm patches but other than that it deserves a deffinate thumbs up !!!
We will and have passed details on for friends to stay !! We will return for defo !!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2016
Thank you for your review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Just to let you know that we have now replaced the sofas. Apologies - we had not been to the house for a while and had not realised that they had become so worn so next time you will be able to sit in greater comfort!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneB2
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and warm, convieniently placed close to Whitby town centre.”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Nice house with all the comforts you could need and the car parking space was very useful as Whitby's car parks are oversubscribed. Suited us perfectly, but whilst it is only 5 minutes walk in to town, there is a steep bank, so bear this in mind if you're not very active!
Couple with small dog, long weekend in January 2016.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, modern and well-furnished accommodation in good location”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our long weekend stay at Chandler's View was very enjoyable. We were three friends who had gone to Whitby to do some walking in the area. The instructions for finding the property and obtaining the key were clear. The property felt welcoming as it was clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The location was good because it was in a quiet cul-de-sac but only a short walk from the town centre with all of its amenities.
I liked the spaciousness of the house and also the pleasant walk into town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen K
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean, well-equiped and excellent location”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely 3 bedroom apartment. Very central, quick walk into town across the railway crossing. Comfortable beds. Owners at the end of phone if you need them. If you have children, there's a handy playground minutes walk away by the school. Hope to stay again soon!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlendaWak...
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Truly a Home from Home”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This accommodation is in an area of Whitby that I wasn't familiar with but excellent directions helped us find Chandlers View quickly. A modern, three storey house with a lovely view of the river. Apart from one very steep hill, it is very easy to get into the town by walking. However, having a parking space outside the house was very handy as our Mum, who lived in Whitby as a child, would have struggled without transport. The owners have made sure that you have everything you could possibly need to feel at home while on holiday . Every room was well furnished and spotlessly clean while the complementary cereals, biscuits and toiletries and the nautical theme throughout the house were lovely touches. Having WiFi available in the house was very useful as we were able to plan days out and find evening entertainment nearby. Thank you for arranging the excellent weather for our stay and helping to make our return to Whitby go so smoothly. We would love to return in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless accomodation.
Liked least: Very small garden, in the shade in the morning.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmieGir...
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous modern house in brill location - the house was spacious, clean and tidy with a lovely kitchen diner area. Having a 2nd loo downstairs was a godsend with my elderly father in tow and the whole house was tastefully decorated. We happened to (unknowingly) pick the busiest weekend of the year in Whitby (Regatta weekend) and parking in town was nigh on impossible - we didn't have to worry about that as we could just walk straight into town (short cut over the railway tracks) within 5 mins.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Everything!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing