We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duke of York
Nearby Hotels
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
YHA Whitby(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$54
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Granby(Whitby)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$100
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
95
77
26
8
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
77
26
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe puboverlooking the harbourgreat harbourseafood platterfavourite pubsteps leadingtea coffee trayscampilovely meallovely placecomfy bedalespubstlcspecialsabbey
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 223 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Me and my husband stayed at the Duke of York for 2 nights. This was our wedding anniversary and first time in Whitby, so was hoping not to be dissapointed. We weren't !!! The room was great, clean and fresh. The fruit and breakfast bars on the Tea & Coffee tray were a nice touch. Our room had doors that opened out on to the harbour, lovely for just watching the boats come in & out. The pub itself served great food at very reasonable prices, and was always busy (must be a good sign). We will definately be going back and staying at the Duke of York.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireSaz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

This was our 3rd 3 night stay at the Duke of York. Me and my husband love Whitby and the view from our room was one of the best there is, with big windows that you can fully open to enjoy the view. The past 2 years we had no complaints at all but this year standards seemed to have dropped a bit. Our bed wasn't made or bathroom cleaned on the first day, just clean towels left on an unmade bed. Wasn't as scrupulously clean as normal either. Perhaps we were just unlucky. However, the fish and chips in the bar were as good as ever and the pub just as welcoming (although £6.50 for a large vodka and orange did seem a bit steep!) The pub next door is £10 a night cheaper, the views the same and the food good too, so I hope The Duke takes note! Im still a fan though and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainbow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

first time me and my husband ever been to whitby and it was lovely. we went with friends for r 2oth wedding anniversary we stayed at the duke of york we had two rooms side by side and the doors opened straight out to the harbour the view was fantastic. room very clean and bed comfy fruit and bisciuts provided and tea coffee .no meals included but meals in the pub itself was lovely.lots of old worldy type pubs didnt seem alot for children to do has only small amount of amusements would say it was more a adult location.must do the 199 steps up to the abbey the views are amazing all in all we had a fantastic time and we will definately be coming back to whitby next year.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torres9Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Good value for money in an excellent location, it think its on the nicer side of the river to stay, more quaint. I think most of the rooms have sea/harbour views which were fantastic. Our room was fairly small but adequate, very comfortable bed, good drink making facilities and plenty of wardrobe/drawer space. The bathroom was a decent size with a good shower. My only compliant was that there was a random hair in the shower cubicle, which I know is very minor but it really put me off and the curtains were a bit shamby. Everything else was clean, fairly modern and nice though and I would stay there again.

The pub itself is lovely, very nice friendly atmosphere and the food is of a good standard, I can imagine it gets packed in the summer and its a shame it doesn't really have an outdoor area.

You can't drive up to the hotel, so we parked just down the road for £6 per 24 hours, its only a 5 minute walk. They don't serve breakfast but there are plenty of reasonably priced cafe's very close by. Lots of great shops to browse in and nice pubs and restaurants aplenty.

Whitby is lovely and great for a relaxing weekend, make sure you eat fish and chips on the seafront and buy some Whitby Jet!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmisses49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Spent a Friday and Saturday night at the Duke of York, arrived in Whitby at 1900hrs by car and elected to park the car in the large public car park adjacent to the train station but at £9 for 24hrs drove to the West cliff area and parked free in the street. Checked in at the Duke of York, room 5, great views over the harbour below, not all rooms have a sea view. Did not eat here as there was no available tables ( no priority given to residents )
but the food looked good. The bar area has a very relaxed atmosphere. The pubs location at the foot of the steps to the Abbey. Plenty of eating places in Whitby, the well known Magpie cafe, a eating experience despite the usual queuing to get in, overall one of the better places to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CleethorpesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews